boy-dies-of-electric-current-in-saharsa-students-torch-train-coaches Play

Boy dies of electric current in Saharsa, students torch train coaches

Saharsa, June 23 (ANI): Irate students ransacked power grid, burnt train coaches and pelted stones on police personnel, on Monday, in Saharsa town of Bihar after a student died from electric current flowing through a loose high-tension wire. The police said a storm in the night led to some loose wires and in the morning when a group of students aged between thirteen to fifteen years were going for their coaching classes, one of the them came in close contact with the wire and died on the spot. Jun 23, 2014
manish-tewari-criticizes-nda-regime-over-fyup Play

Manish Tewari criticizes NDA regime over FYUP

New Delhi, June 23 (ANI): Congress leader Manish Tewari on Monday criticized the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government for playing with the lives of students aspiring for admission to Delhi University (DU) because of the Four year Under Graduate Programme (FYUP). Condemning the University Grants Commission (UGC's) decision to go back to the three year undergraduate course, Tewari demanded answers from the UGC and Delhi University for implementing the FYUP in the first place. On Sunday, the University Grants Commission (UGC) put up three separate notices for Delhi University, the colleges under it and students and parents, saying that the four-year undergraduate programme has been scrapped. It ordered colleges to admit students for the three-year course instead of the four-year undergraduate programme (FYUP) which had been introduced last year. Jun 23, 2014
president-receives-copy-of-encyclopedia-of-hinduism Play

President receives copy of 'Encyclopedia of Hinduism'

New Delhi, June 23 (ANI): President Pranab Mukherjee on Monday received a copy of the Encyclopedia of Hinduism at a function at the Rashtrapati Bhavan Auditorium. The President complimented Swami Chidanand Saraswatiji of the Parmarth Niketan Rishikesh, the founder-chairman of India Heritage Research Foundation (IHRF) for undertaking the effort to bring out the encyclopedia. Present at the event were also LK Advani, Ravi Shankar Prasad and Uma Bharti. The Encyclopedia, a compendium of thousands of years of history, science, art, architecture, polity, religion, philosophy and culture, took 25 years to complete. Jun 23, 2014
du-principals-association-defers-admission-process Play

DU Principals' Association defers admission process

New Delhi, June 23 (ANI): The DU Principals' Association that had called a meeting at SGTB Khalsa College on Monday in wake of ongoing tussle between the DU authority and the UGC has informed that it is deferring the admission process till it gets unambiguous guidelines from the authorities. Jun 23, 2014
meerut-a-perfect-example-of-social-harmony Play

Meerut a perfect example of social harmony

Meerut, June 23 (ANI): Meerut, located in northern state of Uttar Pradesh is an important commercial centre and provides business to various sectors. People from various communities and parts of the nation come here in search of work without giving their religious identity some importance. One such successful unit sells flowers. Harmony between Hindus and Muslims here is considered to be the main reason for the industry’s success. Here, irrespective of their caste and creed both Hindus as well as Muslims help each other from planting to selling the flowers.The fragrance of cordial relations and helping each other has been the essence for the success of many sectors not only in Meerut but across the length and breadth of the country. Jun 23, 2014
congress-kk-mishra-gears-up-to-corner-mp-cm-over-vyapam-scam Play

Congress' KK Mishra gears up to corner MP CM over Vyapam Scam

Bhopal, June 23 (ANI): Hours after Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan said that he is preparing to file a defamation suit over allegations leveled by the Congress against his wife and his government pertaining to the Vyapam Scam, Congress' KK Mishra, who first leveled the charges, said that he is prepared for such action. Mishra said that the Congress will reveal more facts and figures in near future to unveil the scam. Jun 23, 2014
dargah-of-darool-uloom-hazrat-khunja-in-gulbarga-keeps-ethos-of-harmony-alive Play

Dargah of Darool Uloom Hazrat Khunja in Gulbarga keeps ethos of harmony alive

Karnataka, June 23 (ANI): Religious tolerance and acceptance of differences can be found in every nook and corner of the country. From big cities to small villages, people can be found living in perfect harmony. And Gulbarga in the southern state of Karnataka brings alive this ethos through Darool Uloom Hazrat Khunja's mausoleum. Here, people from far and near come to seek the blessings of the revered saint.If legend is to be believed the holy water near the shrine cures many diseases. Devotees not only from across the nation but also from other parts of the world rest their faith in the saint. Be it a Hindu, a Muslim or a Sikh... Everyone bows their head in the respect of Hazrat Khunja. For them God is one who blesses them without any biasness....Providing a glorious example of inter -faith harmony the mausoleum of Hazrat Khunja extends the message of peace, love and compassion for all. Jun 23, 2014
aziz-qureshi-takes-oath-as-up-governor Play

Aziz Qureshi takes oath as UP Governor

Lucknow, June 23 (ANI): Uttarakhand Governor Aziz Qureshi took oath as the Governor of Uttar Pradesh on June 23 in the capital city of Lucknow. Qureshi was given the additional charge of UP Governor after BL Joshi resigned from the post on June 16 following a nudge from the NDA government to the six governors appointed by the UPA government. Allahabad High Court Chief Justice DY Chandrachood administered oath to Qureshi as the UP Governor at Raj Bhawan in Lucknow. Jun 23, 2014