HD Kumaraswamy swearing-in ceremony
Congress-JD(S) combine agrees on letting Kumaraswamy be the Karnataka CM for 5 years. (Photo: Kumaraswamy taking oath on May 23, 2018)Reuters

After weeks of drama, the Karnataka Cabinet was finally formed on Wednesday, June 6. A total of 25 MLAs - 9 from JD(S), 14 from Congress, one from BSP and an independent candidate - took oath as cabinet ministers at Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru.

The Congress-JD(S) coalition decided to split the 34 cabinet ministries in the ratio of 2:1. The Congress took the lion's share of the ministry with 22 berths while the JD (S) settled for 12, including the post of the Chief Minister.


  1. DK Shivakumar was the Minister of Energy in Karnataka during the Siddaramaiah cabinet. He contested from the Kanakapura constituency.
  2. RV Deshpande is the former Minister for Medium & Heavy Industries, he contested from the Haliyal constituency.
  3. KJ George - he earlier held the post of Minister for Bengaluru Development and Town Planning, and the former Home Minister of Karnataka. He contested from the Sarvagnanagar constituency. 
  4. Krishna Byre Gowda - He was the Minister of Agriculture of Karnataka. He is an MLA from the Byatarayanapura Constituency.
  5. Shivanand Patil - He is an MLA from the Basavana Bagevadi constituency. 
  6. Priyank Kharge - He was the Minister of State for Information Technology and Tourism in Karnataka. He represented Chitapur Constituency in Gulbarga district.
  7. U T Khadar - He was the Minister of Food and Public Distribution in Karnataka. He contested from the Mangalore constituency. 
  8. Zamir Ahmed Khan - He was a former party member of the JD(S) who later joined the Congress. He is an MLA from Chamarajpet. 
  9. Puttaranga Shetty - He is an MLA from the Chamarajanagar who had won 45 percent of the votes. 
  10. Shivashankara Reddy - He is the former deputy speaker of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly. He contested from the Gauribidanur constituency.
  11. Jayamala - She is the only female MLA to take oath as the minister in the newly-formed cabinet. 
  12. RB Patil - He won the elections from Humnabad constituency in Bidar district.
  13. Venkataramanappa - He represented the Pavagada constituency in Tumkur district. 
  14. Ramesh Jarkiholi - He is a four-term member of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly who represented Gokak assembly in Belgaum. 


  1. HD Revanna - He represents the Holenarasipur Hassan district constituency and is the elder brother of chief minister HD Kumaraswamy. 
  2. GT Devegowda -- He is the MLA from Chamundeshwari constituency in Mysuru district
  3. Bandappa Kashampur -- He was a former agriculture minister of the state. He won the elections from Bidar (South) constituency.
  4. CS Puttaraju -- He won the elections from Melukote constituency in Mandya district.
  5. Venkatrao Nadagowda -- He is an MLA from Sindhanur constituency in Raichur district.
  6. Sa Ra Mahesh -- He won the elections from Krishnarajanagara constituency in Mysuru district.
  7. SR Srinivas -- He represents the Gubbi constituency and is a four-time member of the Karnataka legislative assembly. 
  8. MC Managuli -- He is an MLA from the Sindagi constituency.  
  9. DC Thammanna -- He is an MLA from Maddur constituency


  1. N Mahesh - He is the Bahujan Samaj Party's lone MLA from Kollegala constituency. 


  1. R Shankar - He is the lone MLA from the Karnataka Praja Janata Paksha party who contested from the Rannibennur constituency.