A week after Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) stormed back to power on May 23, Narendra Modi took oath as the Prime Minister for his second consecutive term on Thursday, May 30.

The swearing-in ceremony of PM Modi along with his new council of ministers was administered by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi
President Ram Nath Kovind, Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu and Prime Minister Narendra Modi with Union cabinet ministers during the swearing-in ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on May 30, 2019.Amlan Paliwal/IANS

With nearly 8,000 guests, the oath-taking ceremony was attended by the leaders of BIMSTEC countries, Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Nepal and Bhutan. Congress chief Rahul Gandhi, his mother and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal and several celebrities also took part in the grand event.