Phase 3 of Lok Sabha Elections 2019
Polling has begun in 15 Assembly constituencies in Karnataka

Voting has begun in 15 Assembly constituencies in Karnataka for the crucial by-polls that can decide the fate of the BS Yediyurappa-led Bharatiya Janata Party government in the state. The current government needs at least six more seats to remain in power.

"Polling began at 7.00 am in all the 15 Assembly constituencies amid tight security to elect the new legislators. Voting will be allowed till 6.00 pm," an Election Commission official told IANS.

In the current 207-member Assembly, the Yediyurappa government has a majority with 106 MLAs, including an independent lawmaker. While the actual total strength of the Assembly is 224, 14 Congress and three Janata Dal (Secular) MLAs had resigned in July, leading to the collapse of the previous HD Kumaraswamy government. The rebel MLAs joined the BJP in November.

Following the MLAs' resignation, they were disqualified by the then Speaker, KR Ramesh. The by-polls are being held to fill the vacancies caused after the disqualification.

Here are the Live updates of Karnataka by-polls:

Live Updates

2019-12-0518:16 (IST)

Voting concludes for 15 Karnataka's Assembly constituencies

The voting for 15 Assembly constituencies of Karnataka concludes. The EVMs are being shifted to strongrooms. 

2019-12-0518:13 (IST)

Names missing from Yeshwantpura voters list

A quarrel broke out between voters and poll officials in Yeshwanthpura after several voters alleged that their names were deleted from voters' list.

2019-12-0517:19 (IST)

Voters in Ranebennur demand money from Congress and BJP

The voters in Ranebennur demand money from Congress and BJP to cast vote claiming that none of the parties developed their constituency.

2019-12-0516:19 (IST)

Congress and BJP workers clash in KR Puram

Congress and BJP workers clash in KR Puram. Congress accuses BJP of threatening party workers from entering the poll booth.

KR Puram has the lowest voters turnout at 29.25 percent till 3 pm.

2019-12-0516:14 (IST)

BJP accuses Jevargi MLA Ajay Singh of violating MCC

BJP accuses Jevargi MLA Ajay Singh of violating Model Code of Conduct. 

2019-12-0516:11 (IST)

Voter turnout till 3 pm

Hunsur - 57.44 percent

KR Pete - 59.86 percent

Hoskote - 54.12 percent

Shivajinagar - 32.22 percent

Mahalakshmi Layout - 30.73 percent

Yeshwanthpur - 38.83 percent

KR Puram - 29.25 percent

Chikkaballapur - 60.43 percent

Vijayanagara - 47.38 percent

Ranebennur - 53.50 percent

Hirekerur - 56.60 percent

Yellapur - 56.21 percent

Gokak - 53.30 percent

Kagwad - 51.41 percent

Athani - 56.05 percent

2019-12-0515:07 (IST)

Voters boycott elections at Vijayanagar Assembly elections

Voters boycott elections at Vijayanagar Assembly elections.

2019-12-0514:04 (IST)

BJP workers distributes cash near KR Puram poll booth

It is alleged that BJP workers distributed cash near KR Puram poll booth. BJP workers are reportedly trying to woo voters at Kalkere polling booth.

2019-12-0514:02 (IST)

Voter turnout as of 1 pm

Voter turnout as of 1 pm -

Yeshwanthpur - 27.29 percent

KR Puram - 22.23 percent

Chikkaballapur - 39.03 percent

Vijayanagara - 34.95 percent

Ranebennur - 36.09 percent

Hirekerur 38.63 percent

 Yellapur - 41.72 percent

 Gokak - 37.37 percent

Kagwad - 37.72 percent

Athani - 40.89 percent

2019-12-0513:09 (IST)

Over 200 names deleted from voters list in Shivajinagar

Over 200 names of voters deleted from voters list of booth number 48, 49 and 50 at Shivajinagar Assembly constituency. Voters expressed anger and slammed the EC officials for this.

2019-12-0513:06 (IST)

Dismal voter turnout continues in Bengaluru

Dismal voter turnout continues in Bengaluru. Brisk voting reported in chief minister BS Yediyurappa's native Bookanakere in KR Pete.

2019-12-0513:02 (IST)

EVM malfunctions reported from multiple constituencies

EVM malfunctions have been reported from booth number 72 in Mahalakshmi Layout. The EC officials are setting up new EVMs.

EVM malfunctions were also reported from booth number 49 in Bhuvanahalli at Hoskote.

2019-12-0512:47 (IST)

Names missing from voters list, voters question poll officials

Several names have been reported to be missing from the voter's list in some constituencies. Many voters questioned poll officials over their missing names on the list in Mahalakshmi Layout constituency.

EVM malfunctions have been also reported from the constituency.

2019-12-0511:04 (IST)

Voter turnout till 9 am

A voter turnout of 6.33 percent was recorded till 9 am in the 15 Assembly seats in the first round of polling, the Election Commission said

2019-12-0510:48 (IST)

'BJP is trying to poach our leaders'

After R Vasanth Kumar rejoined Congress, party leader Dinesh Gundu Rao said: "It is an example of what BJP is doing. They don't have any confidence in their leaders, they are just trying to poach our leaders. They pressurised Vasanth Kumar but he came back to us. They should stop these poaching tactics."

2019-12-0510:00 (IST)

R Vasanth Kumar rejoins Congress

Bengaluru Corporator R Vasanth Kumar, who joined BJP from Congress two days ago, rejoins Congress.

R Vasanth Kumar
2019-12-0509:18 (IST)

EVMs according to vastu?

JD(S) candidate BL Devaraju told polling officers to turn EVMs towards a particular direction as per 'vastu' at Bandihole polling booth, reported Times of India. 

2019-12-0509:16 (IST)

People queue up to cast vote in Hoskote

Karnataka by-polls
2019-12-0509:14 (IST)

Paid leave for public, private workers

The Election Commission has declared paid leaves for the voters working in public and private enterprises for them to exercise their right to vote.