(representatinal image) Rajesh Chauhan was once part of the Indian team.Reuters

Australia's tour of India is going to be much more exciting than expected with the Twenty20 match played on Thursday throwing light on the upcoming ODI matches.

The visitors put up a mammoth total of 201 in the only T20 game played ahead of the ODI series but India chased it down with Yuvraj Singh making the contest easy, hitting 77 of just 35 balls. It was a different format all together but it did give a hint that the series is going to be a competitive one.

A total of seven ODIs will be played starting on Sunday. All matches will be played at different venues - Pune, Jaipur, Mohali, Ranchi, Cuttack, Nagpur and Bangalore.

India will play without some of their senior players like Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Zaheer Khan and Harbhajan Singh while even some of the talented juniors, such as Dinesh Karthik, Murali Vijay, Irfan Pathan and Umesh Yadav could not find place in the squad.

Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh and MS Dhoni form India's batting line-up.

Australia will rely heavily on players like Callum Ferguson, Moises Henriques and Aaron Finch with some of their experienced players David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Clarke and Mitchell Starc not being selected for the tour.


India: MS Dhoni (captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Shami Ahmed, Jaydev Unadkat, Ravichandran Ashwin, Vinay Kumar, Amit Mishra, Ambati Rayudu

Australia: George Bailey (captain), Adam Voges, Shane Watson, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Johnson, Nic Maddinson, Glenn Maxwell, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Clint McKay

India-Australia series 2013 schedule and match results :

Date Time Match Teams Venue Match Results
Sun, 13 Oct 1:30 pm 1st ODI India vs Australia Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium, Pune Australia won by 72 runs
(Match Report
Wed, 16 Oct 1:30 pm 2nd ODI India vs Australia Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur India won by 9 wickets
(Match Report)
Sat, 19 Oct 1:30 pm 3rd ODI India vs Australia Punjab C.A. Stadium, Mohali Australia won by 4 wickets
(Match Report)
Wed, 23 Oct 1:30 pm 4th ODI India vs Australia JSCA International Cricket Stadium, Ranchi (Match Preview)
Match abandoned due to rain
Sat, 26 Oct 1:30 pm 5th ODI India vs Australia Barabati Stadium, Cuttack Match abandoned due to rain
Wed, 30 Oct 1:30 pm 6th ODI India vs Australia Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur India won by 6 wickets
(Match Report)
Sat, 02 Nov 1:30 pm 7th ODI India vs Australia M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore India won by 57 runs
(Match Report