imran khan
Led by Imran Khan, PTI emerged as the single largest party with 116 seats in 270 of the 272 National Assembly (NA) constituencies.ARIF ALI/AFP/Getty Images

Preparations for the oath-taking ceremony of Pakistan's prime ministerial-elect Imran Khan are in full swing. The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief will reportedly be sworn in as the prime minister on August 18.

Amid speculations over the swearing-in dates of the cricketer-turned-politician, the local media in Pakistan quoted PTI Senator Faisal Javed saying that Khan would take oath on August 18. It was being speculated that Khan would take the oath prior to Pakistan's Independence Day celebrations on August 14.

With the ceremony now reportedly scheduled for 18th of this month, Pakistan President Mamnoon Hussain has postponed his foreign tours to be present to administer the oath of the new Prime Minister of Pakistan, Geo TV reported.

Pakistan went to polls on July 25 and PTI had emerged as the single largest party with 116 seats, just short of the required majority of 137 after the Election Commission released the complete results for 270 of 272 National Assembly (NA) constituencies. PTI was reportedly in talks with smaller parties and independent candidates to form a coalition government.

Earlier today, India's envoy to Pakistan Ajay Bisaria gifted a cricket bat to the Prime Minister-in-waiting after the two met to discuss the prospects of relationships between the two neighbouring countries.

Imran Khan with India's envoy to Pakistan Ajay Bisaria
Indian HC Ajay Bisaria gifted a cricket bat autographed by the entire Indian cricket team to PTI chairman and prime minister-elect Imran Khan in a meeting discussing prospects of India-Pak relationship.Twitter/India in Pakistan

The cricket bat gifted by Bisaria was autographed by the entire Indian cricket team. The Indian High Commissioner along with other diplomatic staff congratulated Khan on his electoral success in the 2018 general elections of Pakistan.

Javed also confirmed that three former Indian cricketers Kapil Dev, Novjot Singh Sidhu and Sunil Gavaskar had been invited to the oath-taking ceremony on August 18.