Australia has picked a 14-member squad that will play India in the first two tests of a four-match Test Series beginning next month and the selectors have named two uncapped players to be a part of the mix.

These two players are opening batsman Marcus Harris and pacer Chris Tremain are the two players who will be a part of the National team for the first time in their careers.

Harris is currently the second highest run-scorer in the ongoing Sheffield Shield domestic tournament in Australia and forced his way into the squad over Matt Renshaw after scoring an unbeaten 250 last month.

"Marcus Harris has forced his way into the squad after an impressive start to the Sheffield Shield campaign for Victoria," head selector Trevor Hohns said in a statement.

"Not only has he made plenty of runs, he's displayed the mental application we believe is required to compete at test cricket."

Harris looks likely to slot straight into the team and open the Australian innings with limited overs skipper, Aaron Finch.

Mitchell Starc, Australia, India, Pujara, Second Test
Mitchell Starc will lead a fiery Australian bowling attackReuters

Tremain, Harris' Victorian teammate, has also been called up on the back of consistent performances in the Sheffield Shield. He has taken 24 wickets in the ongoing tournament which includes three fifers in 8 innings.

"Chris Tremain has also been performing consistently with the ball for Victoria.

He has also been a consistent wicket-taker over the past two seasons, and thoroughly deserves his place in the squad," Hohns noted.

Usman Khawaja, who was battling against time to get fit for the series has recovered from his knee operation and will provide some much-needed experience in the top-order of a very inexperienced batting line-up.

Despite all their problems in the batting department, Australia still boasts of perhaps the most threatening bowling attack in the world with the quartet of Mithcell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood and Nathan Lyon fit, rested and raring to go against an underperforming Indian batting line-up.

This will be Australia's first home series following the bans on Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft.

The first test will begin on December 6 at Adelaide.


Australia: Aaron Finch, Marcus Harris, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine (WK) (C), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Chris Tremain, Peter Siddle.

India: Virat Kohli (C), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (WK), Parthiv Patel (WK), Ravi Ashwin, Ravi Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar