DhanuhFacebook/ Dhanush

Vikatan Awards for the year 2014 have been announced. The awards, which recognise and celebrate the best talent in cinema, television and radio, are considered as one the most prestigious awards in Tamil Nadu entertainment industry.

"Sathuranga Vettai" received the award for the best film this year; Dhanush bagged the award for best actor for his performance in the movie "VIP".

Malavika won the best actress award for her impeccable performance in the movie and "Madras" director Ranjith walked away with the award for the best director of the year.

Coming to debutants, Malayalam star and superstar Mammootty's son Dulquer Salmaan has set his foot strong by winning the award for best debutant actor for his performance in "Vayi Moodi Pesavum".

Katherine Theresa proved that she is here to stay, by winning the award for best debutant actress for the film "Madras" and Ramkumar, the director of "Mandasupatti' won the award for best debutant director.

Actors Dhanush and Dulquer Salmaan appeared thrilled after winning the awards and shared their joy through Twitter. Dhanush thanked his fans and said that he is dedicating the award to all engineering students.

Here is the list of Vikatan Awards 2014 winners:

Best Actor Dhanush ("VIP")
Best Actress Malavika ( "Cukoo")
Best Film "Sathuranga Vettai"
Best Director Ranjith ("Madras")
Best Villain (Male) Bobby Simha ("Jigarthanda")
Best Villain (Female) Saloni Luthra ("Sarabham")
Best Supporting Actor Kalayarasan ("Madras")
Best Supporting Actress Saranya ("VIP")
Best Comedian Male Thambi Ramaiah ("Kathai Thiraikathai Vasanam Iyakkam")
Best Comedian Female Kovai Sarala ("Aranmanai")
Best Debut Director Ramkumar ("Mundasupatti")
Best Debutant Actor Dulquer Salmaan ("Vayi Moodi Pesavum")
Best Debutant Actress Katherine Theresa ("Madras")
Best Music Director Santhosh Narayan ("Madras", "Cukoo")
Best playback Singer Male Pradeep Kumar )"Aagayam Thee Pidicha" – "Madras" )
Best Playback Singer Female Shakti Sri Gopalan ("Naan Nee Vaazhave" – "Madras")
Best Channel Sun Music
Best Anchor Male Rio (Sun Music)
Best Anchor Female Divya Darshini ("Koffee with DD" – Vijay TV)
Best TV Show "Oru Vaarthau Oru Latcham (Vijay TV)
Best Serial "Deivamagal" (Sun TV)
Best Radio Channel Radio Mirchi