Vijay Awards 2018
Celebrities at Vijay Awards 2018.Vijay TV Facebook Page

The 10th annual Vijay Awards was held on Sunday, June 3, at the SDAT Indoor Stadium in Chennai. The event was attended by who's who of Tamil film industry.

Dhanush, AR Rahman, Nayanthara, Vijay Sethupathi, Atlee, Kasturi, Pushkar-Gayathri and many well—known names from Kollywood attended the event, which was hosted by Divya Darshini and Ma Ka Pa Anand. But Kamal Haasan and Rajinikanth, the two stalwarts were missing.

Many celebrities were honoured for their works in 2017 and Pushkar-Gayathri's Vikram Vedha bagged the maximum awards by winning in four categories.

Vijay Awards kick-started around 7.45 pm and wrapped up a little over 12 am on Monday, June 4. See the complete list of winner below:

Best Film : Aruvi
Best Playback Singer (F) : Lakshmi for Bogan
Best BGM :Sam CS for Vikram Vedha
Best dialogue writer : Oru Kidayin Karunai Manu - Suresh Sangaiah
Best Debut Actor Male: Vasanth Ravi for Taramani
Best Screenplay: Pushkar-Gayathri for Vikram Vedha
Best Debut Director: Lokesh Kanagaraj for Maanagaram
Favourite Director: Atlee for Mersal
Best Supporting Actor (Female): Revathy for Pa Paandi
Dhanush wins Best entertainer of the year for Maari.
Nayanthara bags Best Actor Female and Favourite Heroine
Best Dance Choreographer: Brindha for Kaatru Veliyidai
Best Actor Negative Role: SJ Suryah for Spyder
Best Actor Male: Vijay Sethupathi for Vikram Vedha
Best Male playback singer : Anirudh for Iraiva song in Velaikkaran.
Aalaporaan Thamizhan wins Favorite Song.
Best music director: AR Rahman for Kaatru Veliyidai.
Best Actor Female : Nayanthara for Aramm.
Dhanush is at the event.
Lifetime Achievement Award to Sivakumar.
Best Comedian: Soori for for Sangli Bungli Kathava Thorae.
Nayanthara enters the venue.
The teaser from Karthi's Kadaikutty Singham launched.
AR Rahman and Vijay Sethupathi are here.
Keerthy Suresh hands over Best debut female to Aditi Balan
Best debut female : Aditi Balan for Aruvi
Best supporting actor Male: Vivek Prasanna for Meyaadha Maan
Best supporting actor Male: Vivek Prasanna for Meyaadha Maan.
Best Director: Pushkar Gayathri for Vikram Vedha.
Best Cinematography : Ravi Verman for Kaatru Veliyidai.
Favorite Movie (fans voted) : #Mersal
Best Editor : Philomin Raj for Maanagaram.
Hema Rukmani from Sri Thenandal Films is here.

[See the photos below]

  • Vijay Awards 2018: Winners List
    Soori receiving Best Comedian Award from Karthi.Vijay TV Facebook Page
  • Karthi with Nayanthara at Vijay Awards 2018
    Karthi with Nayanthara at Vijay Awards 2018.Vijay TV Facebook Page
  • Vijay Awards 2018: Winners List
    Soori receiving Best Comedian Award from Karthi.Vijay TV Facebook Page
  • Bala at Vijay Awards 2018
    Bala at Vijay Awards 2018.Vijay TV Facebook Page

Vijay Awards is back after two years. This year, being the 10th edition of the event, it has turned out to be a special occasion for the Tamil TV channel. The annual Vijay Awards is one of the most awaited events in Kollywood. It will honour Tamil cinema celebs and technicians for their contributions to Tamil cinema. Here, we bring you the live updates of the event:

The awards ceremony, which was supposed to be held on May 26 in Chennai, was postponed to June 3 due to Sterlite issue. The event is expected to be attended by some of the big names from Kollywood that include Kamal Haasan, Ilayathalapathy Vijay, Suriya and Sivakarthikeyan.

The event will witness performances by actresses like Anjali, Dhanshika, Sayyeesha Saigal and many more. Harish Kalyan, who had participated in the first season of Bigg Boss Tamil, will be entertaining the guests with a dance performance. However, much to the disappointment of fans, the awards ceremony is not open to the public.


Many categories including Best Actor, Best Director and Best Film were open for public voting between May 11 and 20. Their votes will be combined with scores given by the jury comprising of actress Radha, directors Bakiyaraj and KS Ravikumar, filmmaker Anurag Kashyap, and actor and filmmaker Yugi Sethu.

In the previous editions, awards were given in over 25 categories.