Sunrisers Hyderabad
Sunrisers Hyderabad players celebrate with the IPL 2016 trophy on Sunday. Pictured: Sunrisers Hyderabad celebrate after winning IPL 2016 at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, on May 29, 2016.IANS

This is the third time in nine years that the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) reached the final of the IPL, only to leave empty handed. Instead, the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) cashed in on the opportunity to lift their first ever IPL trophy. 

RCB started off with a string of losses in IPL 2016 and reached a point where they had to win all their remaining matches in the league to make it to the IPL playoffs. Virat Kohli led his side to the final with a lot of conviction, but they failed in the final hurdle, yet again. 

The Sunrisers have been consistent throughout the tournament and in a fierce battle between the best bowling side and the best batting team, the former prevailed. 

David Warner was phenomenal in IPL 2016 and so was Virat Kohli, but the Aussie opener had the last laugh. 

Watch the highlights of IPl 2016 final RCB vs SRH here.

With 208 runs on the scoreboard, SRH had the edge in the final, courtesy, a blistering cameo from Ben Cutting. The equation has always been simple in such high-voltage games -- put runs on the board and exert extra pressure on the opponents. 

Chris Gayle and Kohli got off to a flier as the former went hammer and tongs. Kohli too registered yet another half century, but both batsmen fell at the wrong time and the rest could not withstand the pressure. At the end, the target was a little too much for RCB.

Twitter reacted after Sunrisers Hyderabad were crowned the IPL 2016 champions.