brett lee
Brett Lee is the mentor of TNPL side Kancheepuram. Pictured: Former Australian cricket player turned actor Brett Lee during the promotion of upcoming film Unindian in Mumbai, on July 28, 2016.IANS

The Tamil Nadu Premier League, modelled along the lines of the popular Indian Premier League, is gaining momentum. At least that is what we can find out after two Twenty20 matches of the league established by the Tamil Nadu State Cricket Association. On Friday, the famed MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai will host another mouth-watering clash between Coimbatore and Kancheepuram.

The Coimbatore team, Kovai Kings, is captained by opening batsman Murali Vijay, who is also an integral part of Indian Premier League side Kings XI Punjab. The side is coached by South Africa veteran all-rounder Lance Klusener. The Kancheepuram team, Kanchi Warriors, is led by Baba Indrajith and mentored by former Australian pacer Brett Lee.

Ahead of the third match of TNPL's first season, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has also allowed players from Tamil Nadu selected for the ongoing Duleep Trophy to play in the IPL-style competition. Only if they are not picked in the playing XI.

The likes of Aparajith, Dinesh Karthik, Arun Karthik, Murugan Ashwin, Abhinav Mukund and Murali Vijay are among the list of players selected to ply their trade across various teams in the Duleep Trophy. Only cricketers registered in Tamil Nadu are eligible for TNPL.

Speaking about his TNPL assignment, 44-year-old Klusener said that it is a great opportunity for him to groom young talents. "India has always been a place I have loved to come - be it during my playing days and even as part of the coaching staff in the IPL. So, when an offer to be part of the Lyca Kovai Kings franchise came, I was more than happy to give my nod," Klusener told the Times of India.

Click here for the schedule of the tournament | Click here for the full list of squads

Tamil Nadu Premier League match 3: Coimbatore vs Kancheepuram is scheduled to start at 6:30 p.m. IST on Aug. 26.

Where to watch live

India: TV: Star Sports 1, Star Sports HD 1. Live streaming: Hotstar.