• Njaan
    Dulquer Salmaan in "Njaan"Facebook/ "Njaan"
  • Varsham
    Asha Sharath in "Varsham"Facebook/ Varsham

The winners of Ramu Kariat Movie Awards ninth edition have been announced. Malayalam movie "Njaan" won the awards for the Best Film 2014 and Ranjith Balaksrishnan, who directed the film, won the award for Best Director.

Dulqer Salmaan continues his success run by winning yet another Best Actor Award for the movie "Njaan" and Asha Sarath added one more feather to her cap by winning Best Actress Award for her performance in the movie "Varsham".

Meanwhile, Lena and Siddhique won the awards for Best Supporting role for films "Iyyobinte Pusthakam" and "Swapaanam" respectively.

The awards are given in memory of legendary Malayalam film-maker Ramu Kariat of "Chemmeen" fame. Like every year, this year's award function will also be held during Nattika Beach Festival celebration at Nattika beach, a coastal village in Thrissur district of Kerala on 26 January at 7pm.

Nattika Beach festival is an yearly affair held in association with Kerala Tourism Department Nattika Panchayath and Nattika Beach Festival Destination Management Council. The five-day festival will see participation of many personalities and artists from various fields of dance, music and cinema.

Here is the winners' list of 9th Ramu Kariat Awards:

Best Film "Njaan"
Best Director Ranjith Balakrishnan –"Njaan"
Best Actor Dulquer Salmaan – "Njaan"
Best Actress Asha Sarath – "Varsham"
Best Supporting Actress Lena – "Iyobinte Pusthakam"
Best Supporting Actor Siddhique – "Swapaanam"
Special Performance Actors Lal –"Iyobinte Pusthakam" and "Hi I'm Tony"
Special Performance Actress Anushree – "Ithihasa"
Best Comedian Male Chemban Vinod – "Sapthamashree Thaskaraha"
Best Comedian Female Anjana – "Varsham"
Popular Director Lal Jose – "Vikramadithyan"
Best Popular film "Bangalore Days" (Producer – Anwar Rasheed)
Best Producer Rajan Doha – "Swapaanam"
Best Cinematographer Amal Neerad – "Iyobinte Pusthakam"
Best Scriptwriter R Unni - "Munnariyippu"
Best Editor Beena Paul – "Munnariyippu"
Best Background Score Ousepachan – "Nagara Varidhi Naduvil Njan"
Best Music Director Gopi Sundar - "Bangalore Days"
Best Lyricist Santhosh Varma – "Mazhanila Kulirumay" – "Vikramadithyan"
Best Singer Male Najeem Arshad – ""Mazhanila Kulirumay" – "Vikramadithyan"
Best Singer Female Soumya – "Mazhanila Kulirumay" – "Vikramadithyan"
New Face of the Year - Male Shine Tom Chacko – "Ithihasa"
New Face of the Year – Female Jyothi Krishna – "Njaan"