Carlos Brathwaite Rahul Dravid Delhi Daredevils
Rahul Dravid takes over from Kumar Sangakkara in the ICC CRicket Committee. Pictured: Rahul Dravid gives a few pointers to Carlos Brathwaite during a Delhi Daredevils training session at the Eden Gardens, April 9, 2016IANS

Rahul Dravid and Mahela Jayawardene were voted in to the ICC Cricket Committee on Friday, with the two legends adding a little more stardust to an already power-packed group of the International Cricket Council.

A day after Shashank Manohar was confirmed as the new chairman of the ICC, Dravid and Jayawardene were locked in for a three-year term in the Cricket Committee, a group which is represents the current players, umpires and media.

The current captains voted in Dravid as a representative of the players, along with Australian Tim May. Dravid and May replace Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara, who completed his last three-year term, and former India spinner Laxman Sivaramakrishnan.

Jayawardene takes the place of Mark Taylor in the committee, with the former Australia captain also completing his final three-year term.

Richard Kettleborough now takes the Umpires' representative place, with the Englishman taking over from Steve Davis.

Anil Kumble was re-appointed as the chairman of the Cricket Committee, and will now be the head of the group till 2018. Kumble was first appointed as the chairman in 2012.

"I want to thank Mark Taylor, Kumar Sangakkara, Laxman Sivaramakrishnan and Steve Davis for their significant contribution to this committee," ICC general manager – cricket, Geoff Allardice told the ICC's official website.

"I welcome Rahul Dravid, Mahela Jayawardene, Tim May and Richard Kettleborough, and I am confident that these highly credentialed individuals will carry on the good work of their predecessors to make the sport even more competitive and attractive."