As counting of votes for Karnataka bypolls of two crucial assembly constituencies in Rajarajeshwari Nagar (RR Nagar) in Bengaluru and Sira in Tumkur has begun, BJP seems to be looking at maintaining their winning streak.   

BS Yeddyurappa
BJP Karnataka Chief BS YeddyurappaIANS

BJP candidates N Muniratna and Rajesh Gowda are leading in RR Nagar, Sira

BJP candidates N Muniratna and Rajesh Gowda are leading respectively in RR Nagar and Sira assembly seats. As per the counting results at 9 am, BJP's Munirathna is leading in RR Nagar with 9,950 votes, while Congress candidate Kusuma has garnered 4,890 votes.

JD(S)'s Krishnamurthy has received 2,340 votes so far. In Sira, BJP's Rajesh Gowda has received 1,202 votes so far while Congress' Jayachandra has got 890. JD(S)'s Ammajamma is trailing with 221 votes. It's a three-cornered fight between BJP, Congress and JD-S in the assembly bypolls as well as four Council segments.

karnataka bypolls

The assembly byolls were held on November 3, while Council elections were held on October 28. The RR Nagar assembly seat falls in southwest Bengaluru, while the Sira assembly seat is in Tumkur district.

Biennial elections for 4 Council seats were held on October 28 in the Karnataka West Graduates, Karnataka North-East Teachers, Bangalore Teachers and Karnataka South-East Graduates constituencies

The early trends are expected to emerge by 10 AM while the results will be out by the afternoon. The polling to four Council segments was held on November 3 and October 28 to fill vacancies necessitated due to various reasons.