The All India Students Federation (AISF), a national students' union of India, won the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students Union (JNUSU) election securing residential seat, while the BJP-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) secure one post, while All India Students Association (AISA) secured two.

AISF candidate Kanhaiya was elected as the JNUSU president. ABVP candidate Saurabh Kumar Sharma won the post of joint secretary and AISA's Rama Naga grabbed the general secretary's post and Shehla Rashid Shora became the vice-president.

The JNUSU election, which was held on 11 September, was contested by a total of 22 candidates for the union's central panel. As many as 83 candidates had contested for the position of councillors at all the centres of Jawaharlal Nehru University.

The election saw a lower turnout of 53 per cent as compared to last year, when 55 per cent students had voted. Left wing student organisation All India Students' Association (AISA) had won all the four top posts of JNUSU.

On Friday, the elections were also held for Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) and ABVP grabbed all the key seats.

ABVP's Satinder Awana was elected the DUSU president, while Sunny Dedha became his deputy. Anjali Rana was elected to the post of secretary and Chhattarpal Yadav became the new joint secretary.