Katrina Kaif
Pictured: Katrina KaifReuters

The opening ceremony of the Indian Premier League 2016 started on a glamorous note with Jacqueline's performance, but the energy level went down later. Dwayne Bravo's "Champion Champion" dance, Ranveer Singh's performance, Katrina's dance moves raised the temparature at the stadium. But it was American dancehall reggae trio Major Lazer's performance that ended the opening ceremony on a grand note.

IPL 2016 is officially open now and the first match will be played between Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune Supergiants at 7 p.m. Saturday in Mumbai. 

9.37 p.m. IST: The stage is set for the performance of Major Lazer. Shweta Pandit sings "Somebody to Lean on"

9.32 p.m. IST: DJ Bravo, Honey Singh, Jacqueline, Katrina join Ranveer on stage. "We are all Champions, all champions," Bravo says.

Honey Singh, Jacqueline, Katrina and Ranveer perform on "Champion" along with Bravo. 

9.31 p.m. IST: Finally, it is Major Lazer. Ranveer introduces Major Lazer 

9.17 p.m. IST: Ranveer performs on "Gallan Goodiyaan" from "Dil Dhadakne Do." "Bajirao" steals the show with his energetic performance.  

9.16 p.m. IST: Ranveer's performance is not complete with the latest hit "Malhaari" song. 

9.10 p.m. IST: "Showstopper" Ranveer is on stage. A loud cheer for the power-house, as he arrives on stage. Ranveer makes a smashing entry as a cricketer. Crowd cheering for Ranveer, as he performs on "Tattad Tattad" song from "Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-Leela" and "Tune Mari Entriyan" song from "Gunday" movie.

8.56 p.m. IST: Fans waiting for power-house Ranveer Singh's performance. 

8.50 p.m. IST: Bhangra beats in the house.Yo YoHoney Singh performs next. Though started on a dull note, the singer enthrals crowd with "Manali Trance" song, followed by "Love Dose" song and his famous "Chaar Bottle Vodka." 

8.44 p.m. IST: Bollywood singer Ankit Tiwari joins West Indian star Dwayne Bravo on stage.

8.40 p.m. IST: It's show time. DJ Bravo is on stage ready to do the "Champion" dance. Bravo surprised audiences with a Hindi song "Chalo Chalo." 

8.25 p.m. IST: It's time for Katrina Kaif to perform. A loud cheer for Bollywood diva, as she makes a "Dhoom" entry. The "Fitoor" actress enthralls audiences with her amazing performances. Katrina looks gorgeous as she performs on "Dhoom," "Bang Bang" and "Afghan Jalebi."

8.20 p.m. IST: Bollywood actor Sanjay Dutt, along with wife Manyatta, is also present at the opening ceremony. "My favourite is Sachin, but he has retired. Virat Kohli is here, so I am looking forward to that," Sanjay says.

 8.03 p.m. IST: Captains of all the eight teams, including MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, David Miller, Zaheer Khan, Rohit Sharma, David Warner and Gautam Gambhir, arrive on stage to sign the MCC Spirit of Cricket pledge.

7.50 p.m. IST: West Indian "Champion" Dwayne Bravo says he is "excited to be part of IPL opening ceremony". Bravo is all set to perform live at the opening ceremony.

7.46 p.m. IST: After Jacqueline, it's time for the Mumbai-based dance group to perform on the stage. The hip-hop group "Kings United" represented India at the global platform.

7.33 p.m. IST: The opening ceremony kick starts with Jacqueline Fernandez's performance. The "Roy" actress performs on her hit numbers from the movies "Kick," "Roy" and "Race 2."

The star-studded opening ceremony of the ninth season of the Indian Premiere League (IPL) will kick start in some time. Ranveer Singh, Jacqueline Fernandez, Katrina Kaif, Yo Yo Honey Singh, American singer Chris Brown, and American dancehall reggae trio Major Lazer among others will perform live at the opening ceremony of IPL 8.

The two-hour long opening ceremony will be begin at 7.30 p.m. IST (3 pm BST) at Mumbai's Dome @ NSCI-SVP Stadium. Captains of all the eight teams, including MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, David Miller, Zaheer Khan, Rohit Sharma, David Warner and Gautam Gambhir, will take the MCC Spirit of Cricket pledge.

Stay tuned for the live updates of the opening ceremony of IPL 2016.