India will take on Australia at Adelaide from Thursday, December 6 in the first of four Test matches to be played Down Under this summer.

When does the match start and how to watch it live

The 1st Test between Australia and India will start at 10:30 am local time, 5:30 am IST and 1 am BST.

Sony Six and Sony Ten 3 will provide live television coverage of the match in India, in English and Hindi, respectively. Live stream of the match will be available on Sony Liv and Jio TV.  

1st test preview

Both teams have trimmed their squad prior to the Test match tomorrow with hosts announcing their 11 and India like they are now wont disclosing their 12. 

For the hosts, vice-captain Mitchell Marsh is the only surprise absentee and Victorian Peter Handscomb finds his place in the 11 in place of the all-rounder. Marcus Harris, Handscomb's state-mate is set to make his debut at the top of the order and will accompany another Victorian Aaron Finch as the openers.

India, like the hosts, is going in with four bowlers–three pacers and one off-spinner. The choice for the number 6 slot will be made between Hanuma Vihari and Rohit Sharma. Although Rohit is the more experienced of the two, Vihari's ability to throw down some off-breaks coupled with his success in England might tempt the team management into making a call in his favour.

Although much of the discussion has been surrounding the Aussie quicks, India will be wary of the threat possessed by Nathan Lyon. The 31-year-old spun a web around the visitors on their last visit to Adelaide four years back.

India will want Ravi Ashwin to shake his foreign cobwebs off and spin a web of his own around the Australians on a pitch that is expected to take some turn as the game progresses.

Virat Kohli
The two captains Kohli (L) and Paine (R) pose with the Border-Gavaskar trophy ahead of the Test series.Ryan Pierse/Getty Images

Indian captain Virat Kohli said in his pre-match press conference that Australia can never be taken lightly at home, even in the absence of Steven Smith and David Warner. He also harped on the need to be consistent throughout the series and not just one match.

Global TV listings

  • Australia: Fox Sports
  • UK: Sky Sports Cricket
  • South Africa: SuperSport
  • USA: Willow TV
  • Canada: ATN Cricket Plus (Asian Television Network)
  • Bangladesh: Gazi TV (GTV)