The 14th edition of the men's hockey World Cup is set to commence on Wednesday, November 28, at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneshwar, Odisha, and 16 teams will be fighting it out to be called the world's best hockey team.

When do the matches start and where to watch it

None of the matches will start before 4 pm local time (IST) and 11:30 am BST. The specific time of every match is listed below under the 'Full Schedule' section.

The Star Sports network and Doordarshan will provide the live television coverage in India. The live stream will be available on FIH's official YouTube channel as well as on Hotstar.

FIH Hockey World Cup 2018 preview

The format of the tournament this time is interesting. The 16 teams are split into four groups of four teams each. The winners of each group go directly into the quarterfinal while the 2nd and 3rd placed teams of each group play against each other in a crossover knockout match.

The four winners of the crossover matches along with the four group winners then will constitute eight teams for the quarterfinals.

Asian Games 2018
India men's hockey team at Asian Games.Ryan Pierse/Getty Images

The big news ahead of the World Cup was that the Pakistan team got visa clearance to arrive in India. They are the most successful team in the world event with four titles and was also the winner of the inaugural edition in 771.

Australia is the defending champion with three titles and will be looking to win their fourth overall and third successive world title.

India goes into the tournament heavily dependent on their youngsters after doing away with three of their most experienced players including Sardar Singh. They have been replaced by highly industrious players and the coach, Harendra Singh believes the old-fashioned grit he has instilled in the boys will take the team places.

Full Schedule

November 28

5 PM -Belgium VS Canada (Pool C)

7 PM - India VS South Africa (Pool C)

November 29

5 PM - Argentina VS Spain (Pool A)

7 PM - New Zealand VS France (Pool A)

November 30

5 PM - Australia VS Ireland (Pool B)

7 PM - England VS China (Pool B)

December 1

5 PM - Netherlands VS Malaysia (Pool D)

7 PM - Germany VS Pakistan (Pool D)

December 2

5 PM - Canada VS South Africa (Pool C)

7 PM - India VS Belgium (Pool C)

December 3

5 PM - Spain VS France (Pool A)

7 PM - New Zealand VS Argentina (Pool A)

December 4

5 PM - England VS Australia (Pool B)

7 PM - Ireland VS China (Pool B)

December 5

5 PM - Germany VS Netherlands (Pool D)

7 PM - Malaysia VS Pakistan (Pool D)

December 6

5 PM - Spain VS New Zealand (Pool A)

7 PM - Argentina VS France (Pool A)

December 7

5 PM - Australia VS China (Pool B)

7 PM - Ireland VS England (Pool B)

December 8

5 PM - Belgium VS South Africa (Pool C)

7 PM - Canada VS India (Pool C)

December 9

5 PM - Malaysia VS Germany (Pool D)

7 PM - Netherlands VS Pakistan (Pool D)


December 10

4:45 PM - 2nd Pool A VS 3rd Pool B (25)

7 PM - 2nd Pool B VS 3rd Pool A (26)

December 11

4:45 PM - 2nd Pool C VS 3rd Pool B (27)

7 PM - 2nd Pool B VS 3rd Pool A (28)


December 12

4:45 PM - 1st Pool A VS Winner 26 (29)

7 PM - 1st Pool B VS Winner 25 (30)

December 13

4:45 PM - 1st Pool C VS Winner 28 (31)

7 PM - 1st Pool D VS Winner 27 (32)


December 15

4 PM - Winner 29 VS Winner 32 (33)

6:30 PM - Winner 30 VS Winner 31 (34)


December 4

4:30 PM - Bronze Medal match Loser 33 VS Loser 34

7 PM - Gold Medal Match Winner 33 VS Winner 34

Global TV listings

Argentina: ESPN Sur
Australia: Fox Sports
China: CCTV5
England and Ireland (and rest of the UK): BT Sport
Germany: DAZN
Italy: FIH YouTube
Japan: TV Tokyo
New Zealand: Sky Sports NZ
South Africa: SuperSport
Spain: Eurosport
USA: Bleacher Report Live