The President of India, as advised by the Prime Minister, accepted the resignation of the following members of the Council of Ministers, with immediate effect. They include: D.V. Sadananda Gowda, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Thaawarchand Gehlot, Ramesh Pokhriyal 'Nishank', Dr. Harsh Vardhan, Prakash Javadekar, Santosh Kumar Gangwar, Babul Supriyo, Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao, Rattan Lal Kataria, Pratap Chandra Sarangi and Sushri Debasree Chaudhuri. 

Original story...

Several heavyweight ministers are resigning before the massive reshuffle of the Modi government this evening.

Health Minister Harsh Vardhan has quit as per reports probably on account of the gaps in management of the Covid second wave which took on monstrous proportions.

Harsh Vardhan had been widely criticised for the ensuing situation as the Health Ministry is seen as the nodal ministry for management of the Covid situation and vaccine administration.

Dr Harsh Vardhan
social media

Resignations pour; big changes in

Among the senior ministers, Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Sadananda Gowda (Union Chemicals and Fertilizers Minister) and Santosh Gangwar (Union Labour and Employment Minister) have also resigned. Gangwar may have faced flak for the migrants crisis during Covid.

Thawar Chand Gehlot, Union Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment has been appointed as Governor of Karnataka.

Narendra Modi

Among the Ministers of State, Debasree Chaudhuri, Women and Child Development; Rattan Lal Kataria, Jal Shakti and Social Justice & Empowerment; Sanjay Dhotre, Education; Pratap Chandra Sarangi, Animal Husbandry; Raosaheb Patil, Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution; Ashwini Chaubey, Health; and Babul Supriyo have all resigned.

Among the existing MoS, Anurag Thakur, G. Kishan Reddy and Parshottam Rupala are set for promotion.

(With inputs from IANS)