election in india
Election officials count votes in the West Bengal Assembly elections, at a counting centre in Kolkata, May 19, 2016.Reuters

The Election Commission of India on Monday announced the schedule for by-elections for vacancies in Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh and Assembly constituencies of  Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu and Tripura. Meanwhile, various states like Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Goa are gearing up for Assembly elections in 2017. 

The polls will take place on November 19. The last date for nomination is November 2. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is November 5. The counting will begin on November 22 and the whole electoral process will be over by November 24.

The dates were decided after taking into account the weather, festivals, and electoral rolls. The by-elections will be conducted with the electoral rolls published on January 1. Those in the electoral roll, but without an election card will be able to vote by using other documents as identification proof.

Following are the vacancies:

Sl. No. State Name of Parliamentary/ Assembly Constituency No. & Name
1 Assam 14-Lakhimpur(Parliamentary Constituency)
2 Assam 20-Baithalangso (ST)(Assembly Constituency)
3 Arunachal Pradesh 45 – Hayuliang (ST)(Assembly Constituency)
4 Madhya Pradesh 12-Shahdol (ST)(Parliamentary Constituency)
5 Madhya Pradesh 179-Nepanagar (ST)(Assembly Constituency)
6 West Bengal 1-Coochbehar (SC)(Parliamentary Constituency)
7 West Bengal 30-Tamluk(Parliamentary Constituency)
8 West Bengal 263-Monteswar(Assembly Constituency)
9 Tamil Nadu 195-Thiruparankundram(Assembly Constituency)
10 Tripura 4-Barjala(Assembly Constituency)
11 Tripura 25-Khowai(Assembly Constituency)
12 Puducherry 17-Nellithope(Assembly Constituency)