phase 2 lok sabha polls
Representational image

Voting for the assembly polls in Maharashtra and Haryana is currently underway in the first major elections after the Lok Sabha polls in April-May.

While the Bharatiya Janata Party-Shiv Sena alliance is fighting to win all of Maharashtra's 288 Assembly seats, the opposition – Congress and its ally Sharad Pawar's Nationalist Congress Party – will try and take advantage of anti-incumbency.

This is the first time that BJP in Maharashtra is contesting on more number of seats than Shiv Sena.

The BJP, Congress, INLD, and JJP will fight to win 90 seats in Haryana. Congress is likely to seek advantage of the high unemployment rates, drug menace and lack of women's safety measures in the state as election issues.

The Haryana Congress chief, Kumari Selja, had said in an interview last week that the state's electorate would vote for "real issues" and not BJP's "duped slogans".

Bypolls will also be held on Monday in 51 Assembly seats and two Lok Sabha constituencies across 17 states and one union territory.

The counting of votes will take place on Thursday.

Here are the Live updates of the polls:

Live Updates

2019-10-2117:29 (IST)

Haryana records 53.78%, Maharashtra at 44.61%

As per the ECI data, Haryana recorded 53.78 per cent voter turnout and Maharashtra recorded 44.61 per cent till 5 pm.

2019-10-2115:44 (IST)

Shah Rukh Khan, wife Gauri cast votes at polling booth no 177 in Mumbai's Bandra West

Shah Rukh Khan
2019-10-2115:37 (IST)

Voter turnout till 3 pm

Estimated voter turnout in Maharashtra has been 40.84 percent till 3 pm. In Haryana, it was 49.75 percent. 

2019-10-2115:10 (IST)

Voter turnout in Haryana till 2 pm

According to the EC data, Haryana saw 39.17 percent voter turnout till 2 pm. 

2019-10-2114:56 (IST)

Issues with EVM at Mumbai's Worli

"There was some issue in an electronic voting machine (EVM) at polling booth number 62 of Worli Assembly constituency but the machine has been replaced and voting is going on," said Sushma Satpute, Election Commission officer at Worli.

2019-10-2114:07 (IST)

Maharashtra voter turnout till 2 pm

Maharashtra witnessed 30.61 percent voter turnout till 2 pm. 

2019-10-2114:02 (IST)

Voter turnout till 1 pm

According to ECI, Haryana saw 33.46 percent turnout till 1 PM. Maharashtra's turnout was 22.79 percent.

2019-10-2113:59 (IST)

Show-cause notice issued to Haryana BJP candidate Bakshish Singh

Haryana elections
2019-10-2113:54 (IST)

People will continue to support PM Modi for his policies: BJP leader Dharmendra Pradhan

"BJP is going to form govt in both the states, Haryana & Maharashtra. We are confident that people will continue to support Prime Minister Modi, his philosophy & his policies," said Union Minister and BJP leader Dharmendra Pradhan.

2019-10-2113:16 (IST)

Smriti Irani casts her vote in Mumbai

Smriti Irani
2019-10-2113:00 (IST)

Sharad Pawar urged voters to come out in large numbers

2019-10-2112:54 (IST)

Sachin Tendulkar, family cast vote in Mumbai's Bandra (West)

Sachin Tendulkar
2019-10-2112:24 (IST)

Devendra Fadnavis will have a record breaking victory: Nitin Gadkari

"Considering the amount of work & development that Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis has done in last 5 years in Maharashtra, I am sure we will have a record-breaking victory in Maharashtra Assembly election," said Nitin Gadkari. 

2019-10-2112:07 (IST)

Former Haryana CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda casts vote in Rohtak

Bhupinder Singh Hooda
2019-10-2111:50 (IST)

Candidates with criminal cases in Haryana

117 candidates out of the 1,168 contesting the Assembly polls 2019 in Haryana have criminal cases registered against them. 

2019-10-2111:44 (IST)

Haryana key candidates

Bhupinder Singh Hooda (Congress)

Manohar Lal Khattar (Bharatiya Janata Party)

Kuldeep Bishnoi (Congress)

Sri Krishan Hooda (Congress)

Ranbir Singh Mahendra (Congress)

Babita Phogat (Bharatiya Janata Party)

Chander Mohan (Congress)

Captain Abhimanyu (Congress)

Randeep Singh Surjewala (Congress)

Sonali Phogat (Bharatiya Janata Party)

Dushyant Chautala (Jannayak Janata Party)

Abhay Singh Chautala (Indian National Lok Dal)

2019-10-2111:27 (IST)

Haryana voter turnout till 11 am

Voter turnout in Haryana till 11 am has been 8.92 percent. 

2019-10-2111:26 (IST)

Uddhav Thackeray, Aaditya Thackeray cast votes

Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, son Aaditya Thackeray cast their votes at Bandra East.

2019-10-2111:14 (IST)

Maharashtra voter turnout till 11 am

6.78 percent voter turnout in Maharashtra until 11 am. 

5.77 percent turnout in Mumbai sub-urban.  

2019-10-2111:10 (IST)

Opposition parties have already left the ground, says Haryana CM Khattar

"Voting is underway peacefully across the state. Opposition parties including Congress have already lost and have left the battleground, their tall claims have no value," Khattar said after casting his vote. 

2019-10-2110:34 (IST)

Powercut at Pune's Shivaji Nagar polling booth

Voting underway

Pune polling booth
2019-10-2110:23 (IST)

Voter turnout in Haryana

Voter turnout in Haryana till 9 am has been 8.73 percent. 

2019-10-2110:07 (IST)

Haryana CM Manohar Lal on his way to cast vote

Manohar Lal
2019-10-2110:00 (IST)

Haryana BJP chief Subhash Barala, family casts vote

Subhash Barala
2019-10-2109:57 (IST)

Mumbai comes out to vote

2019-10-2109:56 (IST)

Aaditya Thackeray urges voters to cast votes

Aaditya Thackeray took to Twitter to urge voters to cast their votes. Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray's son is fighting for Mumbai's Worli constituency seat. 

2019-10-2109:48 (IST)

5% voting till 9 am in Mumbai district's 10 constituencies

Maharashtra Assembly
2019-10-2109:22 (IST)

Union Minister Nitin Gadkari, wife Kanchan cast vote in Nagpur

Nitin Gadkari
2019-10-2109:04 (IST)

Confident of BJP-Shiv Sena alliance winning 225 seats: Piyush Goyal

"am confident that the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance will win around 225 seats, opposition has lost all credibility and is nowhere in the contest. People are with Modi ji and Fadnavis ji," said Goyal. 

Piyush Goyal
2019-10-2109:01 (IST)

PM Narendra Modi urges people to vote

2019-10-2108:59 (IST)

Haryana Assembly elections 2019

Total candidates - 1169

Number of constituencies: 90

Number of polling booths: 19,578

2019-10-2108:58 (IST)

Maharashtra Assembly elections 2019

Total candidates - 3237

Number of constituencies: 288

Number of polling booths: 96,661