zimbabwe cricket
Graeme Cremer and his men are keen to prove that they can be better than Sri Lanka and West Indies in ODI cricketReuters

Zimbabwe will be keen on impressing and showing the world that they are capable of edging big cricket sides Sri Lanka and West Indies during the tri-nation series 2016. A total of seven ODI matches (including the final) are being played over Harare and Bulawayo among the three nations this November.

Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe all stay in the bottom half of the current ICC ODI rankings and therefore, many are expecting them to give a good show in the short cricket tournament in an attempt to take that bright form to the 2017 tournaments.

While Zimbabwe are ranked 11th at the moment -- the lowest among the three teams, Sri Lanka and West Indies are ranked sixth and ninth respectively.

The tournament also gives an option to the teams to field youngsters and monitor their performances in the highly competitive stage. For Zimbabwe, both batsman Tarisai Musakanda and fast bowler Carl Mumba can make their ODI debut in the tri-series 2016. The duo has been included in the 15-man squad.

For Sri Lanka, Upul Tharanga dons the skipper's armband in the tournament as a result of injuries to regular skipper Angelo Mathews and vice-captain Dinesh Chandimal. Veteran seamer Nuwan Kulasekara is also a part of the squad.

There was an embarrassing situation of sorts in the West Indies camp as Darren Bravo was dropped at the last moment from the squad by the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB). He has been replaced by Jason Mohammad. It all happened owing to an untimely argument between Bravo and WICB Chairman Dave Cameron.

Zimbabwe tri-series 2016: Squads

Zimbabwe: Graeme Cremer (c), Brian Chari, Tarisai Musakanda, Carl Mumba, Chris Mpofu, Hamilton Masakadza, Chamu Chibhabha, Craig Ervine, Sean Williams, Peter Moor, Donald Tiripano, Tinashe Panyangara, Sikandar Raza, Tendai Chisoro, Elton Chigumbura.

West Indies: Jason Holder (c), Sulieman Benn, Devendra Bishoo, Carlos Brathwaite, Kraigg Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Johnson Charles, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell.

Sri Lanka: Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Upul Tharanga (c), Kusal Mendis, Shehan Jayasuriya, Asela Gunaratne, Sachith Pathirana, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dasun Shanaka, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Suranga Lakmal, Lakshan Sandakan, Jeffery Vandersay.

Zimbabwe tri series 2016: Schedule

Date Team A   Team B Time Venue Result
Nov 14 Zimbabwe v Sri Lanka 9:30 local time (1:30 pm IST) Harare Sri Lanka win by 8 wickets
Nov 16 Sri Lanka v West Indies 9:30 local time (1:30 pm IST) Harare  
Nov 19 Zimbabwe v West Indies 9:30 local time (1:30 pm IST) Bulawayo  
Nov 21 Zimbabwe v Sri Lanka 9:30 local time (1:30 pm IST) Bulawayo  
Nov 23 Sri Lanka v West Indies 9:30 local time (1:30 pm IST) Bulawayo  
Nov 25 Zimbabwe  v West Indies 9:30 local time (1:30 pm IST) Bulawayo  
Nov 27 Finalist 1 v Finalist 2 9:30 local time (1:30 pm IST) Bulawayo  

TV guide

India - Ten 3, Ten 1 HD.