Virat Kohli, the man of the tournament in the ICC World T20 2016, deservedly bagged the armband in the ICC's official World T20 team of the competition. Ashish Nehra joins him as the only other Indian in the playing XI.

"The teams [both men's and women's] were chosen by a select group of former cricket stars and highly respected commentators who were given the task of picking a balanced side for all conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections," read the ICC statement.

MS Dhoni, the skipper of Team India, remains the notable absentee from the playing XI of the men's team. The list also contains as many as four players from England, two players from eventual winners West Indies and one each from Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand and South Africa.

"The experts had an extremely difficult task to select the men's and women's squads from around 400 cricketers who represented the 26 teams, thanks to outstanding performances by all the players at this hugely successful event," ICC chairman Geoff Allardice said.

"In the end, I believe the selectors have chosen two very well balanced sides which are capable of beating any opposition under any conditions."

Meanwhile, there was no India Women player in the official Women's World T20 team of the competition.

Men's World T20 team of the year:

Jason Roy, Joe Root, Jos Buttler, David Willey (England), Virat Kohli, Ashish Nehra (India), Samuel Badree, Andre Russell (West Indies), Quinton de Kock (South Africa), Mitchell Santner (New Zealand), Shane Watson (Australia)

12th player: Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)

Women's World T20 team of the year:

Stafanie Taylor (C), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Suzie Bates, Leigh Kasperek, Sophie Devine, Rachel Priest (New Zealand), Meg Lanning, Megan Schutt (Australia), Charlotte Edwards, Anya Shrubsole (England), Sune Luus (South Africa)

12th player: Anam Amin (Pakistan)