Bangladesh Asia Cup 2016
Bangladesh will need to be at their best to qualify from their groupIANS

The main round of the ICC World T20 in India is scheduled to be played from March 15, but Test nations like Bangladesh and Zimbabwe have to prove themselves against other sides like Oman, Afghanistan and others to book their slot from the qualifiers.

Though Bangladesh might be an overwhelming favourite to reach the Super-10 stage of the World T20, other teams like Zimbabwe, Ireland, Netherlands and Afghanistan will try to prove their class during the qualifiers as well. 

In the last edition of the 2014 World T20 qualifiers, Bangladesh and the Netherlands qualified for the main draw.

There are eight teams in the 2016 World T20 qualifiers, divided into two groups each. Group A comprises of Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands and Oman while Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Scotland, and Zimbabwe make Group B. Only two teams will qualify for the main round of the World T20, one team each from the two groups.

Here is a look at the teams with their complete squads.

Group A


It will come as a huge surprise if Bangladesh fail to make it past the qualifiers, for they have been playing some good cricket recently. They will be the team to beat in the qualifiers with a number of quality players including Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman and Mashrafe Mortaza in their side.

These players will have a spring in their stride after defeating the likes of Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup and providing a tough challenge to India in the final as well. However, Bangladesh cannot afford to take any team lightly in the qualifiers as a single bad game in the competition could cost them a place in the main stages of the World T20.

Bangladesh World T20 squad

Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Arafat Sunny, Abu Hider, Nurul Hasan


The two strong teams, Bangladesh and Netherlands, will meet early in the qualifiers. Their clash, Wednesday, could play an important role in determining which team progresses. Both teams will treat the game as a virtual final. Stephan Myburg and Timm Van Der Gugten are two key players for Netherlands in the competition, and Roelof Van der Merwe, who has previously played for South Africa, will need to bring all his experience to play.

Netherlands World T20 squad

Peter Borren (C), Wesley Barresi, Logan van Beek, Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Tom Cooper, Timm van der Gugten, Vivian Kingma, Ahsan Malik, Paul van Meekeren, Roelof van der Merwe, Stephan Myburgh, Max O'Dowd, Michael Rippon, Pieter Seelaar


Ireland are the third of the strong teams in the group. Ireland have always been a good limited-overs team, but with their recent form not the greatest, it remains to be seen if they can find a way past Bangladesh. Apart from the O'Brien brothers -- Niall and Kevin -- players such as Paul Stirling and William Potterfeild, who has been a huge player for Ireland in the recent past, need to shoulder responsibility. But the task is an uphill one with Bangladesh and Netherlands in the same group. 

Ireland world T20 squad

William Porterfield (C), Andy Balbirnie, Gary Wilson, George Dockrell, Andy McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Andrew Poynter, Stuart Poynter, Boyd Rankin, Max Sorensen, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Craig Young


Oman are seen as the weakest team in the group. Apart from their recent victory over Hong Kong in the Asian qualifiers, Oman haven't really been able to make their mark in the grand stages. A victory against any of the teams in the group will be taken up as a huge bonus. Bowling all-rounder, Zeeshan Siddiqui is their key player for the World T20.

Oman World T20 squad

Sultan Ahmed (c), Aamir Kaleem, Syed Amir Ali, Munis Ansari, Jatinder Singh, Ajay Lalcheta, Mehran Khan, Rajesh Ranpura, Sufyan Mehmood, Vaibhav Wategaonkar, Zeeshan Ahmad Siddiqui, Zeeshan Maqsood, Bilal Khan, Adnan Ilyas, Aaqib Ilyas

Group B


The African nation are the second Test team in the competition, so they are expected to go through to the Super 10 stages. That, though, primarily depends on the performance of some of their star players, which include Hamilton Masakadza, Elton Chigumbura and Sean Williams, all of whom have decent experience of playing against some top teams in international cricket.

Zimbabwe World T20 squad

Hamilton Masakadza (C), Sean Williams, Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza, Tinashe Panyangara, Peter Moor, Elton Chigumbura, Sikandar Raza Butt, Richmond Mutumbami, Chamu Chibhabha, Tendai Chisoro, Tawanda Mupariwa, Malcolm Waller, Vusumuzi Sibanda, Donald Tiripano


No doubt, Afghanistan have some talented players in their squad, but they need to gel as a unit and perform in the World T20 qualifiers. If they play their A-class game, the Afghans might just reach the Super-10 stage. Afghanistan will be even more determined to qualify for the main rounds after failing to make it to main phase of the Asia Cup. Gulbadin Naib, Asghar Stanikzai and Najibullah Zadran need to excel in the World T20 qualifiers.

Afghanistan World T20 squad

Asghar Stanikzai (C), Mohammad Shahzad, Noor Ali Zadran, Usman Ghani, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Sadiq, Shafiqullah, Rashid Khan, Amir Hamza, Dawlat Zadran, Shapoor Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Samiullah Shenwari, Najibullah Zadran, Hamid Hassan


The game of cricket has a healthy following in Scotland, and there is pressure on the players to perform as well. Though they might not seal their place in the Super10, one can be assured that the Scots will play an attacking brand of cricket, entertaining the viewers. Their fearless approach could create some major upset in the qualifiers as well. Preston Mommsen, their skipper, will be a key player in the competition, while Josh Davey, like other Scot players, who have county experience, will be a huge asset to the team.

Scotland World T20 squad

Preston Mommsen (C), Kyle Coetzer, Alasdair Evans, Calum MacLeod, Con de Lange, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Josh Davey, Mark Watt, Matt Machan, Matthew Cross, Michael Leask, Richie Berrington, Rob Taylor, Safyaan Sharif

Hong Kong

They are the least expected side in the qualifiers. May be they are the Pakistan among the Associate nations, for their unpredictability factor. They can go hot and cold in a matter of minutes, but if all their players get their acts together, they can be a threat, which can be understood from their win against Ireland and Nepal in recent times. But then, they have lost to the USA and Jersey as well.

Hong Kong World T20 squad

Tanwir Afzal (C), Mark Chapman, Haseeb Amjad, Nadeem Ahmed, James Atkinson, Tanwir Ahmed, Ryan Campbell, Waqas Barkat, Babar Hayat, Christopher Carter, Aizaz Khan, Nizakat Khan, Anshuman Rath, Waqas Khan, Kinchit Shah.