For the first time in eight years, Indian skipper MS Dhoni featured in the Vijay Hazare trophy for his home side Jharkhand. 

All eyes were on his performance, but Dhoni could only manage nine runs for Jharkhand, playing under the captaincy of Varun Aaron. He decided not to captain the side because he barely knows the players. Nonetheless, Jharkhand pulled off a fantastic nine-run victory against Jammu and Kashmir in a low-scoring encounter.

On the other hand, Yuvraj Singh batted brilliantly and led Punjab from the front when they were in deep trouble. His innings of 93 runs from as many balls helped Punjab to put a decent total on the scoreboard. Unfortunately, Yuvraj Singh's heroics with the bat were for naught as Mumbai pipped Punjab by five wickets.

Ravichandran Ashwin continued to shine with the ball as he picked up three wickets for Tamil Nadu against Assam. Tamil Nadu comfortably won the game by six wickets.

Manoj Tiwary and Sreevats Goswami powered Bengal to a comprehensive win over Goa. They beat Goa by six wickets with almost nine overs to spare.

Services got the better of Rajasthan and the margin was also big — 63 runs. It was collective effort from the Services bowlers.

Uttar Pradesh thrashed Himachal Pradesh by seven wickets. Wicket-keeper Eklavya Dwivedi scored the only century of the day to guide his side over the line.

In a thrilling encounter, Railways defeated defending champions Karnataka by one wicket at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. Karn Sharma scored a superb half-century to pull his team out of trouble and lead them to a fascinating victory. With a star-studded batting line-up, Karnataka were the clear favourites, but results are what anybody would care about.

Gautam Gambhir-led Delhi got the better of Baroda. Virat Kohli did not play in the first game as he decided to rest, but that did not stop Delhi from winning the game by 31 runs.

Andhra won by 58 runs against Tripura, and Odisha were victors in a close game against Vidarbha, wining by three runs. Haryana outclassed Kerala by nine runs in the last game of Day 1 of the Vijay Hazare trophy.