Veteran filmmaker IV Sasi has been awarded the prestigious J.C. Daniel Award for the year 2014 for his contributions towards the Malayalam entertainment industry.

The award jury chaired by MT Vasudevan Nair had members including Padmashree award-winning actor Madhu, P V Gangadharan, Cultural Department secretary Rani George and Chalachitra Academy chairman T Rajivnath.

The award is given for the contributions to Malayalam cinema by the Government of Kerala in honour of JC Daniel, the father of Malayalam cinema.

The Kerala State Chalachitra Academy has hosted the award since 1998 and MT Vasudevan Nair received the prestigious award in the previous year.

IV Sasi has done more than 150 films in different languages. He directed some of the best films in Malayalam during the 1970s, 80s, and 90s. He has won the Kerala State Film Awards four times for his films "Anubhavam", "Aalkkoottathil Thaniye", "1921" and "Mrigaya".