Joy Bhattacharya, former team director of the Indian Premier League (IPL) side Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), has compared U-19 cricketers with start-up companies, leaving fans confused with the sarcastic remark.

Joy was a key member of the KKR management team from 2008 to 2014. The famed quiz master was the Project Director of the FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017 as well, where he worked in tandem with Tournament Director Javier Ceppi. The duo remained key figures in making the U-17 football World Cup in India an astounding success.

joy bhattacharya
Joy Bhattacharya was the KKR team director from 2018 to 2014Saikat Paul/Pacific Press/LightRocket

On Wednesday morning, Joy wrote on Twitter:

If you look at IPL auctions, U19 players are like start ups. They require investment and usually don't pay off immediately. The success rate is similar as well.

Joy is known to many as one of those rare intelligent-yet-funny men and this tweet showcases the humour in his tone again. The likes of Virender Sehwag and cricket expert Ajay Menon have been ruling Twitter of late with their brilliantly-timed humorous comments as well.

shubman gill
India U-19 cricket team star Shubman Gill during the ICC U-19 World Cup 2018 tournament in New Zealand. He was bought by KKR in the IPL Auction for Rs 1.2 croreMARTY MELVILLE/AFP/Getty

Ahead of IPL 2018, KKR got three of the best India U-19 cricketers in Shubman Gill, Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Shivam Mavi. The trio played a key part as Rahul Dravid's boys beat Australia in the final to lift the U-19 Cricket World Cup 2018.

Nagarkoti, 18, was paid the highest among the trio at the IPL Auction 2018. The Rajasthani bowler was bought for Rs 3.2 crore. Shivam was paid Rs 3 crore, while Shubman Gill, who scored a total of 372 runs from the five matches he came on to bat for the India U-19 cricket team in the tournament, was bought by KKR for Rs 1.8 crore.

Shubman, 18, was the Player of the tournament at the U-19 Cricket World Cup 2018.

Other India U-19 cricket stars to play in IPL 2018:

Delhi Daredevils

Prithvi Shaw

Manjot Kalra

Abhishek Sharma

Mumbai Indians

Aditya Thakare

Anukul Roy