The Twenty20 carnival in the Caribbean islands concluded on Sunday after Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel were crowned the champions of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2015.

Red Steel defeated Barbados Tridents by 20 runs in the final at the Queen's Park Oval in Port of Spain on Sunday.

Kamran Akmal and Cameron Delport added 102 runs together after losing Jacques Kallis early in their innings. Akmal scored 60 runs from just 46 balls, which included five boundaries and a couple of huge sixes. Delport made 50 runs from 38 balls and his innings consisted of six fours and two sixes. A late flourish from Dwayne Bravo (29 runs from 15 balls) powerd the Red Steels to a commanding total of 178 runs in their alotted 20 overs.

Later, when the defending champions came out to bat, Stevn Taylor and Dwayne Smith got off to a flier and they managed to score 47 runs in the first four overs. Smith especially went at it hammer and tongs on Sunday while chasing. But Johan Botha of Red Steel was responsible for drawing the first blood. Taylor was dismissed and the momentum immediately shifted towards the Red Steel.

Smith continued to play his attacking cricket, but the batsmen at the other end struggled against Bravo, Kevon Cooper, Suleiman Benn and Derone Davis. These four bowlers slowed things down and made things difficult for the Tridents batsmen. Benn picked up two wickets and gave away just 24 runs in his spell of four overs. His victims included the wicket of Smith, who was lookin really dangerous at one point of time. 

Red Steel owner Shah Rukh Khan went on a tweeting spree after they were crowned as the champions of the CPL 2015.