Michael Hussey
Mike Hussey lead the Sydney Thunder beautifully throughout the season of Big Bash League 2015-2016.Reuters

Sydney Thunder have won the Big Bash League (BBL) 2015-2016 after beating Melbourne Stars in a thrilling contest at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on Sunday.

This is for the first time time that Michael Hussey-led Thunder qualified for the big final of the tournament since its inceptions and they played some really good all-round cricket to win the game by three wickets at the end.

Usman Khawaja yet again shone with his blade. His innings of 70 runs from 40 balls was absolutely crucial and later he was adjudged the man of the match in the final of the KFC BBL. 

Michael Hussey got a fitting farewell from his Thunder teammates as Ben Rohrer hit the winning six over long on in the last over of the innings. 

Things never got out of hands for the Thunder as they were off to a rolicking start with the help of Khawaja and Jacques Kallis, who also played his last innings in BBL on Sunday. 

With the solid opening stand of 86 runs in just nine overs between Khawaja and Kallis, the stage was set for the rest of the batting lineup, which had a lot of firepower in it right till the end. 

Earlier, Thunder won the toss and chose to field. Kevin Pietersen was on fire with the bat yet again for the Stars. His innings of 74 runs from 39 balls in the first innings helped Stars to post a competitive target on the scoreboard. 

Shane Watson was the pick of the bowlers for Thunder as he was the most economical of them all. 

For Stars, Marcus Stoinis picked up three wickets for his side but it was not enough for the home side as the Thunder were too hot to handle. 

Here is how the world reacted after Thunder's victory: