Sri Lanka
Angelo Mathews will lead the Sri Lankan side in the three-match Test series against Pakistan.Reuters

Sri Lanka Cricket announced a 16-man squad for the three-match Test series against Pakistan at home scheduled to start from 17 June. The three Test matches will be played at Galle, Colombo and Pallekele.

The most surprising inclusion in the Sri Lankan Test squad is of Jehan Mubarak, who marks a return to the side after almost eight years, for the longer fomat of the game. The 34-year old batsman played his last Test match in 2007. 

Mubarak's performance in the domestic season over the past two years earned him a place in the 16-man squad for the series against Pakistan at home.

Mubarak scored more than 1,000 runs in each of the last two domestic seasons at an impressive average of 81.78. He also improved on his fielding, which impressed Johnty Rhodes during his 10-day training camp in Sri Lanka, according to Espn Cricinfo.

Sri Lanka Cricket have also picked three youngsters for the upcoming series against Pakistan.

Off-spinner Tharindu Kaushal, uncapped fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera and Kusal Perera are the three young players who have made it to the Sri Lankan Test squad.

Pacer Shaminda Eranga has ben left out because of his injury and Suranga Lakmal has been included in the squad. But Lakmal is yet to recover from an injury he suffered earlier. 

Upul Tharanga and Prassana Jayawardene have been left out of the 16-man Test squad of Sri Lanka. Veteran left arm off-spinner Rangana Herath will be leading the spin attack. It will be interesting to see whether Dilruwan Perera or youngster Tharindu Kaushal get to share the red ball with Herath.

Sri Lanka will be playing three Test matches against Pakistan, followed by five ODIs and two Twenty20 (T20) matches over one and a half month.

Here is the full Sri Lankan Test squad: 

Angelo Mathews (Capt), Lahiru Thirimanne (vice-captain), Kaushal Silva, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Kithruwan Vithanage, Jehan Mubarak, Kusal Perera, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Tharindu Kaushal, Nuwan Pradeep, Dhammika Prasad, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal (subject to fitness).