Sri Lanka Cricket has announced a 17-member squad for their tour of England in May. Dasun Shanaka and Dhananjaya de Silva are the two young faces named in the Test squad.

The inclusion of Shanaka came us a surprise as he has hardly played in the domestic leagues. Moreover, he is someone who is best suited for the shortest format of the game. 

Lahiru Thirimanne was also recalled to the Test squad, along with Niroshan Dickwella. Thirimanne, who was dropped from the team during Sri Lanka's tour of New Zealand last year, came up with some strong performances in the AIA Premier League. The left-hander scored two centuries and a fifty for Ragama Cricket Club.

Kaushal Silva, who was recently hospitalised after getting hit by a ball on his head, earned a recall too. Silva too was dropped during the New Zealand tour. 

Dhammika Prasad, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal and Shaminda Eranga will handle the pace department, while veteran spinner Rangana Herath and Dilruwan Perera will take care of the spin attack. 

This was the last time that Aravinda de Silva-led committee chose a squad. Now they will be hand over the reigns to Sanath Jayasuriya & co. who will be selecting the ODI and T20 squads for the England tour. 

The Sri Lanka team will depart for England on May 4. After reaching the UK, they will play a couple of practice matches and then face England in three Test matches -- in Headingley, Chester-le-Street and at Lord's. 

Sri Lanka will also play five ODIs and a one-off T20 match against England, following the Test series. 

Sri Lanka Test squad for England tour: Angelo Matthews (C), Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka, Dhammika Prasad, Dilruwan Perera, Dimuth Karunaratne, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Dushmantha Chameera, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Mendis, Lahiru Thirimanne, Milinda Siriwardana, Niroshan Dickwella, Nuwan Pradeep, Rangana Herath, Shaminda Eranga, Suranga Lakmal.