imran tahir
South Africa spinner Imran Tahir will be the man to watch for in the ODI seriesReuters

AB De Villiers has been the major casualty for South Africa but the Proteas are expected to have plenty of firepower to get back their usual composure against Australia in the five-match ODI series. Faf du Plessis will be leading the Proteas while Steve Smith, as usual, will be leading the Aussies in the series.

Australia, currently the number 1 team in the ODIs according to the ICC, have a host of players missing for the series. While Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood have been rested, the Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Pattinson, Pat Cummins, James Faulkner and Peter Siddle have been ruled out of the first ODI due to injury.

John Hastings, Scott Boland and Mitchell Marsh remain the only experienced bowlers for the away side in the ODI series, while newbies Daniel Worrall, Chris Tremain and Joe Mennie could also play a part in the three matches.

It will be interesting to see the pacers go against the decorated South African batting lineup, which despite the absence of De Villiers, doesn't look any bit depleted. The likes Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla and Du Plessis can bring magic to the 22 yards any day they are in their full form.

Spin bowling will remain a major highlight of the ODI series with the likes of Adam Zampa (Australia) and Imran Tahir (South Africa) having enough class in their arsenal to turn the outcome of the game.

"Zampa is a very good bowler. He proved that over the last year, in the IPL [Indian Premier League] and playing all over the world. I reckon he is a very good talent," leg spinner Tahir spoke to ESPN Cricinfo. "The selectors and coaches and captain have showed trust in us spinners which is a good sign and it's also becoming challenging for us as spinners against each other."


South Africa: Faf du Plessis (C), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock (wk), JP Duminy, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir.

Australia: Steve Smith (capt), George Bailey, Scott Boland, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Mitchell Marsh, Joe Mennie, Chris Tremain, Matthew Wade (wk), David Warner, Daniel Worrall, Adam Zampa.

South Africa vs Australia ODI series 2016 schedule

1st ODI

Date: September 30

Venue: SuperSport Park, Centurion

Time: 1:30 pm local (11:30 am GMT | 5 pm IST)

2nd ODI

Date: October 2

Venue: New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Time: 10 am local (8 am GMT | 1:30 pm IST)

3rd ODI

Date: October 5

Venue: Kingsmead, Durban

Time: 1:30 pm local (11:30 am GMT | 5 pm IST)

4th ODI

Date: October 9

Venue: St George's Park, Port Elizabeth

Time: 10 am local (8 am GMT | 1:30 pm IST)

5th ODI

Date: October 12

Venue: Newlands, Cape Town

Time: 1:30 pm local (11:30 am GMT | 5 pm IST)

TV Listings

India: Ten 2, Ten 1 HD.

UK: Sky Sports.

US: Willow TV.

Australia: Fox Sports Australia.

South Africa: SuperSport.