Virat Kohli Ravi Shastri India
BCCI confirmed that Ravi Shastri will remain the interim coach of India till 2016 World T20 via Twitter on Sunday.Reuters

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced that Ravi Shastri will continue to remain as the team director of India until the ICC World T20 2016, which will be held in India.

The board took the decision according to the recommendations of the Cricket Advisory Committee, which consists of Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly and VVS Laxman. It has also extended the contracts of batting coach Sanjay Bangar, bowling coach Bharat Arun and fielding coach A Sridhar. The three will continue with their services with Team India.

BCCI seemed to be happy with the recent performances of India and the efforts of the coaching staff. Thus they have all been rewarded with an important extension until the T20 World Cup in 2016.

The media release said: "BCCI President Jagmohan Dalmiya and secretary Anurag Thakur came up with an appreciation and accepted the decision unanimously.

Along with Mr. Shastri, the Committee also approved the extension of the following Assistant coaches till the ICC World T20 2016: -

1. Mr. Sanjay Bangar (Assistant Coach- Batting)

2. Mr. B. Arun (Assistant Coach- Bowling)

3. Mr. R. Sridhar (Assistant Coach- Fielding)."

The Board believed that Shastri shares a good equation with the current set of players. Thus the advisory committee felt that it will help ahead of the T20 World Cup, which will be played in India in 2016.

Shastri was brought in as the team director during India's tour of England in 2014 even when Duncan Fletcher was there as the head coach. Later, he travelled along with the team during the Australia tour and also in the ICC World Cup 2015. Shastri has been at the helm of Team India ever since Fletcher parted ways with the team.

Earlier this year, Shastri's contract was renewed by the Board ahead of the short Bangladesh tour where India suffered a shocking defeat. Shastri did not accompany India during the Zimbabwe tour but returned with his duties in the Sri Lanka tour, where India beat the hosts and clinched a historic series win.