The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has finally got what it originally wanted, as the upcoming Pakistan Super League (PSL) will be held in the UAE with Dubai and Sharjah as venues for the mega competition.

Right from the start, the organisers wanted to host the PSL in the UAE, but later they had to opt for Doha as the desired venues had been booked for another T20 competition comprising retired cricketers -- the Masters Champions League.

However, a number of meetings seem to have taken place between Emirates Cricket Board and the PCB, which resulted in the UAE being the final venue for the PSL.

Confirming UAE as the venue, a PCB release said, "Pakistan Super League (PSL) will be held from 4th Feb to 24th February 2016 in Dubai and Sharjah, UAE, during which a total of 24 matches will be played over a 21-day period."

Some big names, such as Kevin Pietersen, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Luke Wright, Shakib al Hassan, Lasith Malinga, Sunil Narine, and Angelo Mathews have already agreed to participate in the tournament.

With such high-profile players, the tournament is expected to attract viewers from all around the world. Five teams from Quetta, Karachi, Peshawar, Lahore and Islamabad will battle in the first edition of the tournament.

The PSL has also roped in Wasim Akram and Ramiz Raza for an international appeal and these former cricketers can add a huge brand value to the competition. The PCB is making some major decisions of late. It has already floated tenders for broadcasters and sponsors. Teams are also expected to be constituted soon.

"The PSL has already floated tenders for broadcasters and producers. This will be followed by a tendering process for sponsorships in the second week of October. Franchise owners will be inducted between mid to end November after which the foreign and local players will be drafted and teams constituted", said Najam Sethi, chairman of the governing council of PSL.