Pakistan's newly-elected Prime Minister Imran Khan has announced his 21-member cabinet, which is made up mostly of people who held key posts in the government of former dictator General (retd) Pervez Musharraf.

Sixteen of them will be given ministerial berths while five will be advisors to the PM, according to Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) spokesman Fawad Chaudhry.

At least 12 cabinet members, including Musharraf's former spokesperson and attorney, have served under Musharraf.

They are Farogh Naseem, Dr Ishrat Hussain, Amin Aslam Tariq Bashir Cheema, Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, Shafqat Mehmood, Makhdoom Khusro Bakhtiar, Ghulam Sarwar Khan, Zubaida Jalal, Fawad Chauhdry, Sheikh Rashid Ahmad and Abdul Razak Dawood,.

Shah Mahmood Qureshi, who is the vice-president of PTI, will be the minister for external affairs, a post he also held from 2008 to 2011 when Pakistan People's Party (PPP) government was in power.

He was visiting Delhi when LeT terrorists carried out the Mumbai attacks in 2008.

The ministry of defence will be headed by Pervez Khattak while Asad Umer will be the finance minister. Khatak was chief minister of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa from 2013-2018.

Umer is the son of Lt Gen (retd) Mohammad Umer, who participated in the 1971 war against India.

Five cabinet ministers, including Khattak and Qureshi, were ministers when PPP was in power.

Sheikh Rashid will again head the railways, a ministry he held previously under Gen Musharraf.

Three women - Shireen Mazari, Zubaida Jalal and Fehmida Mriza - will also form part of Imran's cabinet.

The five advisors, who will have the status of ministers, include Ishrat Hussain, Babar Awan and Abdul Razzak Dawood.

Imran Khan's government will be the third consecutive time since 2008 when a democratically-elected government has come to power after the previous two completed their full terms.

Musharraf announced elections in 2008 after serving as president from 2001-2008 after grabbing power in a bloodless coup in 1999.

Imran Khan gives a speech as he declares victory in the general election
Cricket star-turned-politician Imran Khan, chairman of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), gives a speech as he declares victory in the general election in Islamabad, Pakistan, in this still image from a July 26, 2018 handout video by PTI.PTI handout/via REUTERS