Mnet Asian Music Awards 2016
(L to R) South Korean actor Lee Byung-hun, K-pop band EXO, Timbaland with Korean-American singer Eric Nam and members of South Korean K-pop band Twice pose on the red carpet during Mnet Asian Music Awards (MAMA) in Hong Kong, China December 2, 2016.Reuters

The Mnet Asian Music Awards 2016 concluded on a grand note with BTS, EXO and TWICE winning the three major honours. The Mnet Asian Music Awards was held on Friday night at the Hong Kong AsiaWorld-Expo.

Big stars from the music and entertainment industry attended the show. The award show also witnessed some spectacular performances of the artists, including Wiz Khalifa, EXO, NCT, GOT7, SEVENTEEN, TWICE and IOI Dream Girls. Wiz Khalifa and EXO's performances were one of the biggest highlights of the award ceremony.

Check below for all the updates of the award show as and when it happened.

12.40 pm KST: Album of the Year goes to EXO

12.25 pm KST: Artist of the Year goes to BTS

12.17 pm KST: Song of the Year goes to TWICE for Cheer Up

12.15 pm KST: Song of the Year will be announced soon. Who do you think will win the award? 

12.10 pm KST: Quincy Jones or Q, American record-television and film producer, spoke about the power of music that brings everyone together.

11.54 pm KST: EXO makes a smashing entry on stage.

11.47 pm KST: Kim Yoo Jung and Park Bo Gum announce GFRIEND as the winner of Best Dance Performance Female Group

11.44 pm KST: Moonlight Drawn By Clouds actors Kim Yoo Jung and Park Bo Gum present the Best Male Artist Award to ZICO

11.42 pm KIt's Its time to announce the Best Male Artist Award. TAEYEON won the Best Female Artist Award, so who will win the Best Male Artist Award?

11.38 pm KST: After Taeyeon, it's Wiz Khalifa's performance. The American rapper sings his popular it's been a long day song, a tribute to actor Paul Walker. 

11.27 pm KST: Best Rap Performance award goes to C Jamm and BewhY

11.25 pm KST: Next Award is Best Collaboration and the award goes to  Suzy Bae and BAEKHYUN for Dream

11.17 pm KST: They are back and this time Yoo Ah In, BewhY, Yurima, and Prepix are making the crowds go wild.

11.00 pm KST: It is not over yet. Some of the big performances will happen soon. Meanwhile, check out the photos of the recent performances

10.48 pm KST: BTS group is bringing down the house with their performance

10.45 pm KST: BLACKPINK won award for Best Music Video

10.42 pm KST: It's time for the Best Band Performance Award. And the award goes to CNBLUE

10.37 pm KST: Best Male Group Award goes to EXO, while TWICE group takes home the Best Female Group trophy. 

10.31 pm KST: And rapper Timbaland is here. Timbaland collaborated with singer Eric Nam for the performance.

10.27 pm KST: Best Vocal Performance Group award goes to DAVICHI for Besides Me

10.25 pm KST: Best Dance Performance Solo award goes to TAEMIN for Press Your Number

10.20 pm KST: The event saw some amazing performances by some female artists, including IOI and TWICE group.

10.07 pm KST: Best Vocal Performance Male Solo award goes to Crush, while the Best Vocal Performance Female Solo goes to Ailee.

9.55 pm KST: And the World Performer award goes to SEVENTEEN

9.40 pm KST: After a short break, the award show begins with a powerful performance by NCT, followed by MONSTA X and GOT7's performance

9.18 pm KST: Back-to-back performances of Dean, Crush and Zico have set the stage on fire.

9.10 pm KST: Best Dance Performance Male group award goes to BTS

9.05 pm KST: Best Female Artist Award goes to TAEYEON  

9.02 pm KST: Suzy Bae and Baekhyun performed on their hit Dream. 

8.55 pm KST: Best OST Award goes to Lee Juck for Don't Worry from Reply 1988 TV series

8.48 pm KST: GOT7 group won the Worldwide Favourite Artist Award

8.43 pm KST: Singer Gallant performs next. 

8.42 pm KST: EXO group wins Best Asian Style Award

8.40 pm KST: Park Ki Woong is on stage to present the next award.

8.35 pm KST: SEVENTEEN and GFRIEND have set the stage on fire with their performances. Both – SEVENTEEN and GFRIEND – are winning hearts with their adorable acts.

8.25 pm KST: The Best New Male Artist winner has been announced and the award goes to NCT 127.


8.19 pm KST: TWICE girls are here on stage to announce the Best New Female Artist. And the award for the Best New Female Artist goes to IOI Dream Girls.

8.10 pm KST: NCT performs the opening act, followed by TAEMIN's performance. Watch NCT's performance below: 


8.07 pm KST: The main event started with some amazing performances

7.37 pm KST: EXO members are looking dapper in black suits. Kim Tae-yeon, popular as TAEYEON, is looking stunning in short blue dress.

7.31 pm KST: Timbaland arrives with Eric Naam. "I feel great. This is new to me so I am all excited," Timbaland said.

7.15 pm KST: Two awards of the evening have been announced. MONSTA X and BLACKPINK receive 2016 BEST OF NEXT male and female groups awards, respectively.

7.10 pm KST: miss A's Suzy Bae arrives. Suzy will set the stage on fire with her performance tonight. 

7.03 pm KST: The Bangtan Boys (BTS boys) are here. Actor Park Bo-gum and actress Kim Yoo Jung arrive on the red carpet. Love in the Moonlight actor is looking dapper in a white suit.

7.00 pm KST: The beautiful TWICE girls are here are they all look stunning in the black and white dress.

6.55 pm KST: Wang Ta Lu and rapper ZICO show off their style on the MAMA red carpet.

6.47 pm KST: IOI girls are here and they receive a warm welcome from the crowd.

6.42 pm KST: Han Ji-min says hi to her fans from the red carpet and Taemin is all smiles.

6.40 pm KST: BewhY is here. Rapper BewhY is all set to perform actor Yoo Ah In tonight.

6.35 pm KST: GOT7 boys takes the red in style.

6.27 pm KST: Fans favourite Seo Kang Joon , Park Min Young, DAVICHI girls and singer Gallant arrive. DAVICHI girls and Park Min Young look ravishing.

6.20 pm KST: Meet the members of the SEVENTEEN band group. The boys are looking dapper in the golden suit. Watch their performance below: 

6.19 pm KST: South Korean singers Dean and Crush arrive in style

6.14 pm KST: GFRIEND members are the next artist to arrive on stage

 6.11 pm KST: NCT Dream members arrived and are performing on some of their major hits

The event has started at the AsianWorld-Expo and one of the first celebrities to arrive at the award show is the NCT Dream members. 

The Mnet Asian Music Awards 2016 will start in just a few hours with celebrities walking the red carpet. The music awards also called as MAMA 2016 will start at 6 pm KST (2.30 pm IST) at Hong Kong's AsiaWorld-Expo.

The Mnet Asian Music Awards, which is one of the biggest K-pop award shows, is expected to see a galaxy of celebrities, including American rapper Wiz Khalifa, EXO's Baekhyun, miss A's Suzy Bae, GOT7, MONSTA X, BewhY, Taemin, Taeyeon, EXO, BTS, SEVENTEEN, GFRIEND, TWICE, I.O.I and NCT DREAM are expected to perform.

Stay tuned here for the live updates of the Mnet Asian Music Awards 2016.