• Miss Universe 2014
    Paulina Vega, Miss Universe Colombia 2014 is crowned the winner by Gabriela Isler, Miss Universe 2013, on stage at the conclusion of The 63rd Annual MISS UNIVERSEMiss Universe
  • Miss Universe 2013 Gabriela Isler of Venezuela along with other contestants.
    Miss Universe 2013 Gabriela Isler of Venezuela along with other contestants.Reuters
  • Miss Universe
    2012: Olivia Culpo, USACreative Commons
  • Miss Universe
    2011: Leila Lopes, AngolaCreative Commons
  • Miss Universe
    2010: Jimena Navarrete, MexicoCreative Commons
  • Miss Universe
    2009: Stefania Fernandez, VenezuelaCreative Commons
  • Miss Universe
    2008: Dayana Mendoza, VenezuelaCreative Commons
  • Miss Universe
    2007: Riyo Mori, JapanCreative Commons
  • Miss Universe
    2006: Zuleyka Rivera, Puerto RicanCreative Commons
  • Miss Universe
    2005: Natalie Glebova, CanadaCreative Commons
  • Miss Universe
    2004: Jennifer Hawkins, AustraliaCreative Commons
  • Miss Universe
    2003: Amelia Vega, Dominican RepublicCreative Commons
  • Miss Universe
    2002: Justine Pasek, PanamaCreative Commons
  • Miss Universe
    2001: Denise M. Quinones, Puerto RicoCreative Commons
  • Lara Dutta
    2000: Lara Dutta, IndiaReuters
  • Miss Universe
    1999: Mpule Kwelagobe, BotswanaTwitter
  • Miss Universe
    1998: Wendy Fitzwilliam, Trinidad and TobagoTwitter
  • Miss Universe
    1997: Brook Lee, USACreative Commons
  • Miss Universe
    1996: Alicia Machado, VenezuelaTwitter
  • Miss Universe
    1995: Chelsi Smith, USATwitter
  • Sushmita Sen
    1994: Sushmita Sen, IndiaReuters

Miss Colombia Paulina Vega was crowned Miss Universe 2014 in the 63rd edition of the competition on Sunday night in Miami, USA. She won the pageant after competing with 88 contestants.

The beauty queen became the first Miss Universe from Colombia since Luz Marina Zuluaga in 1958. She is also the first contestant to wear the newly-designed crown, created by Diamonds International Corporation (DIC).

According to tradition, Miss Universe 2013 Gabriela Isler from Venezuela crowned the new winner. Meanwhile, Miss USA Nia Sanchez was named the first runner-up and Miss Ukraine Diana Harkusha was announced as the second runner-up.

Since 1952, the beauty pageant has been one of the most popular competitions worldwide. Along with Miss World and Miss Earth, Miss Universe is one of the three major beauty pageants.

Below is the list of the Miss Universe winners over the last 20 years. Also check out the slideshow above.

2014: Paulina Vega, Colombia

2013: Gabriela Isler, Venezuela

2012: Olivia Culpo, USA

2011: Leila Lopes, Angola

2010: Jimena Navarrete, Mexico

2009: Stefania Fernandez, Venezuela

2008: Dayana Mendoza, Venezuela

2007: Riyo Mori, Japan

2006: Zuleyka Rivera, Puerto Rican

2005: Natalie Glebova, Canada

2004: Jennifer Hawkins, Australia

2003: Amelia Vega, Dominican Republic

2002: Justine Pasek, Panama

2001: Denise M. Quinones, Puerto Rico

2000: Lara Dutta, India

1999: Mpule Kwelagobe, Botswana

1998: Wendy Fitzwilliam, Trinidad and Tobago

1997: Brook Lee, USA

1996: Alicia Machado, Venezuela

1995: Chelsi Smith, USA

1994: Sushmita Sen, India