Miss America
Miss America 2016 Betty Cantrell will crown her successor on Sunday night. Pictured: Miss America 2016 Betty Cantrell of Georgia walks towards the ocean during a photo opportunity after winning the 95th Miss America Pageant last night at Boardwalk Hall, in Atlantic City, New Jersey, September 14, 2015.Reuters

In a few hours, one among 52 contestants will be crowned Miss America 2017. The grand finale of the beauty pageant, which has been running since 1921, will take place on Sept. 11, at Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

"The Bachelor" host Chris Harrison and "NBA Countdown" host Sage Steele will co-host the event on Sunday. Grammy winner Ciara, entrepreneur Mark Cuban, Olympic gold medallist Gabby Douglas, actress Sara Foster (VH1's Barely Famous), musician and actress Laura Marano, singer-songwriter Cole Swindell, and former Miss America Sharlene Wells Hawkes will judge the beauty pageant.

The winner of Miss America beauty pageant will get a $50,000 college scholarship. Miss America 2016 Betty Cantrell will crown her successor in a glittering ceremony on Sunday at 9 pm ET.

The event will be broadcast live on ABC from the Boardwalk Hall. The Twitter and Facebook pages of Miss America will also provide live updates and photos of the Miss America 2017 grand finale.

For the first time, an openly lesbian contestant, Miss Missouri Erin O'Flaherty, is participating in the event this year. "Behind the scenes, we've been well-represented, but I'm the first openly gay title holder, so I'm very excited," O'Flaherty told the Associated Press.

"I knew going in that I had the opportunity to make history. Now, I get to be more visible to the community and meet more people," she added.

Here is the list of 52 contestants from across the states:

Miss Alabama 2016 Hayley Barber

Miss Alaska 2016 Kendall Bautista

Miss Arizona 2016 Katelyn Niemiec

Miss Arkansas 2016 Savvy Shields

Miss California 2016 Jessa Carmack

Miss Colorado 2016 Shannon Patilla

Miss Connecticut 2016 Alyssa Rae Taglia

Miss Delaware 2016 Amanda Debus

Miss District of Columbia 2016 Cierra Jackson

Miss Florida 2016 Courtney Sexton

Miss Georgia 2016 Patricia Ford

Miss Hawaii 2016 Allison Carol Nanea Chu

Miss Idaho 2016 Kylee Solberg

Miss Illinois 2016 Jaryn Franklin

Miss Indiana 2016 Brianna DeCamp

Miss Iowa 2016 Kelly Koch

Miss Kansas 2016 Kendall Schoenekase

Miss Kentucky 2016 Laura Jones

Miss Louisiana 2016 Justine Ker

Miss Maine 2016 Marybeth Noonan

Miss Maryland 2016 Hannah Brewer

Miss Massachusetts 2016 Alissa Musto

Miss Michigan 2016 Arianna Quan

Miss Minnesota 2016 Madeline Van Ert

Miss Mississippi 2016 Laura Lee Lewis

Miss Missouri 2016 Erin O'Flaherty

Miss Montana 2016 Lauren Scofield

Miss Nebraska 2016 Aleah Peters

Miss Nevada 2016 Bailey Gumm

Miss New Hampshire 2016 Caroline Carter

Miss New Jersey 2016 Brenna Weick

Miss New Mexico 2016 Stephanie Chavez

Miss New York 2016 Camille Sims

Miss North Carolina 2016 McKenzie Faggart

Miss North Dakota 2016 Macy Christianson

Miss Ohio 2016 Alice Magoto

Miss Oklahoma 2016 Sarah Klein

Miss Oregon 2016 Alexis Mather

Miss Pennsylvania 2016 Samantha Lambert

Miss Puerto Rico 2016 Carole Rigual

Miss Rhode Island 2016 Shruti Nagarajan

Miss South Carolina 2016 Rachel Wyatt

Miss South Dakota 2016 Julia Olson

Miss Tennessee 2016 Grace Burgess

Miss Texas 2016 Caroline Carothers

Miss Utah 2016 Lauren Wilson

Miss Vermont 2016 Rylee Field

Miss Virginia 2016 Michaela Gabriella Sigmon

Miss Washington 2016 Alicia Cooper

Miss West Virginia 2016 Morgan Breeden

Miss Wisconsin 2016 Courtney Pelot

Miss Wyoming 2016 Jordyn Hall