Former Australian wicket-keeping great Adam Gilchrist has been appointed skipper of the Masters Champions League (MCL) franchise Sagittarius Strikers for the upcoming T20 tournament.

The devastating batsman is still popular among his fans around the globe.

Gilchrist has played quite a lot of T20 cricket. He has also led two sides in the most popular T20 league in the world Indian Premier League (IPL) — the erstwhile Deccan Chargers and Kings XI Punjab.

He also led the Chargers to their first IPL title back in 2009, when the tournament took place in South Africa. Gilly, as he is popularly called, destroyed the opposition, Royal Challengers Bangalore, in the IPL 2009 final.

He also has played 13 T20 international matches for Australia and his immense contribution to the game of the cricket made him the automatic choice for the spot of captain of the Sagittarius Strikers.

Gilly fetched the second-largest sum of money at the Masters Champions League auction that took place in December 2014.

Sagittarius Strikers also have a number of retired legends of the game in their side. They also have some fresh players from the current cricketing fraternity. Gilly will be privileged to lead men like Mahela Jayawardene, Daniel Vettori Shane Bond, Jonathan Trott, Tino Best, Krishmar Santokie, Nathan Hauritz, Michael Carberry, Alviro Petersen, Yasir Hameed, Gavin Hamilton, Phil Mustard and Khurram Khan.

MCL 2020 will also feature some of the legends who played in the Cricket All Stars T20 series. Unfortunately, neither Sachin Tendulkar nor Shane Warne will be seen in this upcoming T20 tournament in Dubai and Sharjah.

MCL 2020 will start from 28 January in Dubai and there are six teams who will battle it out to lift the coveted trophy.

Sagittarius Strikers will begin their MCL 2020 campaign against Virgo Super Kings on the 29 January in Dubai.