Former skippers of their national side, Sourav Ganguly and Paul Collingwood have been appointed as the captains of Libra Legends and and Capricorn Commanders respectively for the upcoming Masters Champions League (MCL). 

The former India captain expressed his delight at being associated with the Libra Legends. Ganguly was picked up in the auction, which took place in December 2015, for by the Legends.  

"It will be an absolute honour to lead Libra Legends which has world-class stars like [Jacques] Kallis, [Shaun] Tait, [Graeme] Swann and Brad Hogg. I am looking forward to some tough games. Also there's [Virender] Sehwag, [Kumar] Sangakkara , Michael Vaughan playing in other teams, so it will be fun," Ganguly told reporters on Tuesday. 

Ganguly, who also featured in the Cricket All Stars series for Sachin's Blasters in November 2015, captained the Kolkata Knight Riders in the first few seasons of the IPL.

Libra Legends will play the opening game of the MCL 2020 against the Virender Sehwag-led Gemini Arabian on 28 January at the Dubai International Stadium. 

Collingwood, who was also a successful England captain, is equally excited to be leading the Capricorn Commanders franchise. Collingwood will be skippering a side which consists of cricketers like Michael Vaughan, Andrew Symonds, Abdur Razzaq, Ashwell Prince, Geraint Jones and Sunil Joshi.

"It will be exciting to lead Capricorn Commanders in the first-ever MCL. It is a privilege to lead such esteemed players who I have battled with over the years, and am happy to be with, on the same side. This will hopefully be the first of our successive, successful associations together," Collingwood told mediapersons. 

Commanders will begin their MCL 2020 campaign against the Leo Lions at the Dubai International Stadium on 29 January. 

Six teams -- Leo Lions, Libra Legends, Capricorn Commanders, Sagittarius Strikers, Virgo Super Kings and Gemini Arabians -- will battle it out in the United Arab Emirates for the inaugural MCL 2020 title. The big final will be played at the Dubai International Stadium on 13 February