We witnessed Cricket All Stars T20 series last month in the United States of America (USA), where the cricketing legends came together to weave magic on the field yet again after so many years. Now, it is time for some more action as Master Champions League (MCL) T20 is set to take place in 2016.

A total of 12 marquee players have been announced for the MCL T20 2016. These 12 legends will be distributed equally among six teams who will battle it out for a coveted trophy in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Among these 12 marquee players, six of them have captained their national cricket teams and is a mixed bag of outstanding cricketing talents.

As we learnt earlier that MCL T20 2016 will feature six teams, the names of all the six teams will be based on zodiac signs. The announcement about the teams and which marquee player will join which side in this star-studded league will be out soon.

"It is indeed a privilege for us to have these names headlining the very first season of MCL. To especially have six of the most successful captains of their respective countries as part of the marquee players' list is a big moment for the tournament," MCL CEO Zafar Shah told reporters on Thursday.

"The legacy that these players left behind in their respective countries was phenomenal. I am sure they will have a similar long lasting impact in the Emirates. Also the other names in the list are world beaters who have stolen the show with the bat, ball or both. I welcome all of them to the MCL family." 

Here are list of 12 marquee players for MCL T20 2016:

Sourav Ganguly, Virender Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara, Michael Vaughan, Graeme Smith, Mahela Jayawardene, Heath Streak,Scott Styris, Graeme Swann, Abdul Razzaq, Azhar Mahmood and Shoaib Akhtar.