Kim So-yeon
Actress Kim So-yeon bagged the Grand Excellence Award (Daesang) during Korea Drama Awards 2016.Facebook/Korea Drama Fastival

The winners of Korea Drama Awards 2016 were announced at the Gyeongnam Culture and Arts Center's grand performance hall in Jinju city of South Gyeongsang Province on Friday, October 7.

The annual event for excellence in television kicked off at 5 pm KST and the award recipients include Descendants Of The Sun, Cinderella And Four Knights, My Daughter, Geum Sa Wol, Happy Home and Mirror Of The Witch.

While the KBS romantic thriller bagged three awards for Best Drama, Best Actor Excellence and Best Couple, tvN period drama received two awards for Best Actor Top Excellence and Global Star.

Actress Kim So-yeon of Prosecutor Princess fame won the Grand Excellence Award (Daesang) for her role as Bong Hae-ryung in Korean-mini-series Happy Home. 

The 35-year-old All About Eve star thanked her colleagues and fans for their love and support. "Everyone, you cannot believe it right? I as well cannot believe this is happening but thank you. I will unabashedly receive this award as I am not sure if such a day will ever come again in my lifetime," Soompi quoted her as saying.

Check out the complete list of winners for Korea Drama Awards 2016 below:

Grand Excellence Award

  • Kim So Yeon: Happy Home

Top Excellence Award

  • Best Drama: Descendants Of The Sun
  • Best Director: Kim Jin Min for Marriage Contract
  • Best Drama Writer: No Hee Kyung for Dear My Friends
  • Best Actor: Jang Hyun Sung for Doctors and Ahn Jae Hyun for Cinderella And Four Knights
  • Best Actress Baek Jin Hee for My Daughter, Geum Sa Wol
  • Best Couple: Song Joong Ki and Song Hye Kyo for Descendants Of The Sun

Excellence Award

  • Best Actress: Park Se Young for My Daughter, Geum Sa Wol
  • Best Actor: Jo Jae Yoon for Descendants Of The Sun
  • Best New Actor: Seo Ha Joon for The Flower In Prison
  • Best New Actress: Kim Sae Ron for Mirror Of The Witch

Other Categories

  • Achievement Award: Lee Dong Jin
  • Special Jury Award: So Yoo Jin for Five Children
  • Global Star: Ahn Jae Hyun for Cinderella And Four Knights
  • Hallyu Star: Han Seung Yeon for Age Of Youth
  • Hot Star: Lee Ki Woo for Memory
  • Global Management Award: Moon Bo Mi from HB Entertainment
  • Best OST: Insooni in Such A Beautiful Person feat. Yuk Ji Dam for Mom