Israel flag
Representational Image: A supporter of Yisrael Beitenu party holds an Israeli flag as she stands on a hill overlooking the Gaza Strip in the southern town of Sderot February 23, 2015.Reuters/Amir Cohen

Israel Elections 2015 Live Blog

On Tuesday, 17 March, starting from 7am Israel Standard Time, thousands of Israeli nationals will vote to elect the government that will rule them for the next four years.

The polling stations will remain open till 10pm and on Wednesday morning the results will be announced, paving the way for the formation of the Knesset and the new government.

Opinion polls have already predicted the ouster of incumbent Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu while the Zionist Union is expected to form a coalition government. The alliance comprises Israel's Labour party, led by Isaac Herzog, and Tzipi Livni's Hatnuah party, which backs peace talks with Palestinians. 

However, history shows elections in Israel are a tricky business.

The 17 March Israeli elections are going to be one of the most closely watched events of 2015. The Voice of Israel will have a live marathon election coverage giving a minute-by-minute account of the polling on the Israeli General Elections 2015. VOI's extended live coverage will start from 7pm and will continue till 2am.

The first exit poll result will be announced by VOI at 10pm and the election results coverage will then continue on 18 March starting 11am until 1pm.

The live coverage and Israeli voting results also will be broadcast on all local television channels.

The Israeli Network, which runs Channel 2 News and Channel 10 News, will be covering the Israel elections live starting from 8am.

On the election day, after the voting process closes at 10pm, the booth in-charges throughout the night will be sending the voting details to the Central Elections Committee in Knesset, which will then publish the final results the next day.

The Israeli election 2015 polling results will be broadcast live on the committee's website.

The Knesset, after choosing the 120 new members, will hold a swearing-in ceremony two weeks after the election, following which the elected candidates will get into the discussion to form government.