Sri Lanka are all set to get back to ODI action for the first time since January. They will be playing two one-day international matches against Ireland in Malahide in Dublin. These two ODIs will give them time to get back in the groove of limited-overs cricket ahead of their five-match ODI series against England, which is scheduled to start from June 21.

Sri Lanka Cricket selectors have recalled Farveez Maharoof, Upul Tharanga, Seekkuge Prasanna, Danushka Gunathilaka and Suraj Randiv for the seven ODI matches that they are going to play during this tour.

The most notable ommision from the squad was Milinda Siriwardana, who has been decent in the shorter formats of the game.

Meanwhile, Randiv is likely to make it to the playing XI for the first ODI against Ireland. This will be his first appearance for Sri Lanka since November 2014.

The last time Sri Lanka visited Ireland, was also back in 2014. One of the two ODIs was washed out and the other was won by Sri Lanka pretty comprehensively.

As many as eight players from that series against Sri Lanka will feature in the current Ireland squad.

However, they will be missing the wicketkeeper-batsman Niall O'Brien, as he has been sidelined with an injury that he sustained during a county game for Leicestershire last week. Stuart Thompson will not be a part of this two-match series for personal reasons. 

John Anderson and Max Sorensen have been called up. These two players will replace Niall O'Brien and Thompson in the Ireland squad. 

"John and Max were unlucky to miss out in the original squad selection. John's been in superb form this season, scoring heavily in domestic and inter-provincial cricket. The injuries to Andrew Balbirnie and Niall give him an opportunity to come into the squad and if selected, I'm certain he'll perform well," Ireland head coach John Bracewell was quoted as saying BBC

"Max bowled excellently in the win against Scotland A last week, taking six wickets in the game. He impressed me with the pace and the bounce he generated. It's clear he's recovered well from his recent illness and injury and it's good to have him back firing on all cylinders."

SquadsIreland: William Porterfield (C), George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, Tim Murtagh, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Kevin O'Brien, John Anderson, Stuart Poynter, Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Max Sorensen, Gary Wilson.

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (C), Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Upul Tharanga, Dhananjaya de Silva, Shaminda Eranga, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal, Kusal Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Farveez Maharoof, Suraj Randiv, Seekkuge Prasanna.

Ireland vs Sri Lanka schedule: ODI series:

1st ODI: Ireland vs Sri Lanka.

Date: 16 June, 2016. 

Time: 10:45 a.m. local time, 9:45 a.m. GMT, 3:15 p.m. IST and 5:45 a.m. EST.

Venue: Malahide, Dublin.

2nd ODI: Ireland vs Sri Lanka.

Date: 18 June, 2016.

Time: 10:45 a.m. local time, 9:45 a.m. GMT, 3:15 p.m. IST and 5:45 a.m. EST.

Venue: Malahide, Dublin.

TV listings: India and UK: No coverage. USA: ESPN 3. 

Live Updates: Cricket Ireland and Cricket Sri Lanka official websites.