The first edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) took place in 2008 and since then, Purple Cap and Orange Cap were introduced, which is awarded to the player with the highest number of wickets and runs respectively.

In the 11th edition of the domestic T20 league in India, the tradition of Purple Cap and Orange Cap still continues. Sunrisers Hyderabad's Bhuvneshwar Kumar picked up the highest wickets in the last two seasons.

Former Australia vice-captain David Warner won the Orange Cap last season with the Sunrisers. However, he will not be involved in the IPL 2018 as he along with Steven Smith were banned from taking part in the competition after the ball-tampering scandal in South Africa. Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Virat Kohli won in 2016.

International Business Times, India has complied the table for the current top five bowlers and batsmen for IPL 2018.

Andre Russell, injury, KKR, IPL 2017, Gujarat Lions
Andre Russell is currently leading Orange Cap in IPL 2018IANS

Purple Cap

No Player Team Matches Wickets Economy
1 AJ Tye KXIP 10 16 7.77
2 Hardik Pandya DD 10 16 8.18
3 Mujeeb Ur Rahman KKR 10 14 6.69
4 Mayank Markande MI 11 14 7.80
5 Umesh Yadav RCB 10 14 8.14

Orange Cap

No Player Team Matches played Runs Highest Score Strike Rate
1 KL Rahul KXIP 10 471 95* 156.47
2 Suryakumar Yadav MI 11 435 72 130.23
3 Ambati Rayudu CSK 10 423 82 151.61
4 Kane Williamson SRH 10 410 84 135.15
3 Virat Kohli RCB 10 396 92* 173.12

 * - Indicates the player remained unbeaten 

Table was last updated after Mumbai Indians defeated Kolkata Knight Riders on May 9.