Murli Vijay has replaced David Miller as the KXIP skipper for the remainder of IPL 2016. Pictured: Manan Vohra and Murli Vijay of Kings XI Punjab in action during an IPL match between Kings XI Punjab and Rising Pune Supergiants at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on April 17, 2016.IANS

Indian Premier League franchisee Kings XI Punjab have appointed Murali Vijay as the skipper of the side for the remainder of IPL 2016. The Punjab-based side, who are currently at the bottom of the league announced the news on Saturday.

David Miller, who was appointed as the captain of the side just before the start of the season, failed to lead from the front in the IPL 2016 games for KXIP so far and his batting was also not impressive. The South African scored just 76 runs in the six matches so far.

KXIP have won only once out of their six games so far in the season.

"Kings XI Punjab announces M Vijay as the captain for Kings XI Punjab for the remaining part of the IPL 2016 tournament. David Miller continues to be an integral part of the team and is a very strong player of the squad," stated the franchise in a statement, as quoted by the Indian Express.

Vijay, who has played for Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Daredevils in the past, joined KXIP in 2015. In the current season, he has been the third-highest run-getter for the side with 143 runs over six games. Manan Vohra leads the scoring charts for the IPL side this season with 161 runs, while Shaun Marsh has 158 runs.

KXIP play Gujrat Lions at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot on Sunday.