Salman Khan
'Bigg Boss 8': Why Reality Show may Lose TRPs if Farah Khan Replaces Host SalmanFacebook

"Kick" star Salman Khan stated on Thursday that he is not the co-owner of Indian Super League outfit FC Pune City.

There have been reports that Khan and Wadhawan Group are the co-owners of the Pune franchise of the ISL. But the actor denied those claims on Thursday, by stating that he is not part of the team due to his brand endorsements.

"I do not own any ISL team. My friends Dheeraj & Kapil Wadhawan had asked me to be their partner in FC Pune City," the "Kick" star tweeted.

"But due to my endorsement contracts with Suzuki and Thums Up which conflict with the League sponsors, I can't associate with FCPuneCity.

"I wish ISL all success. By creating ISL, IMG-Reliance and Star have put in place an important building block to put Indian football on the global football map."

Reports are also doing the rounds that "Bang Bang" actor Hrithik Roshan will replace Khan as the co-owner of the Pune franchise in a day or two.

According to The Times of India, Roshan will be named as the co-owner of FC Pune City soon. The leading daily, quoting sources, said that the team has finished talks with Roshan, and the actor is now set to sign the dotted line this week.

The daily further stated that Roshan will also attend the opening ceremony, which will be held at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata on Sunday.

The Indian Super League consists of eight teams, which include Atlético de Kolkata, Chennaiyin FC, Delhi Dynamos, FC Goa, Kerala Blasters, Mumbai City FC, NorthEast United FC and FC Pune City.

The stars among the owners of these teams are Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Ranbir Kapoor, John Abraham, Abhishek Bachchan and brand ambassador Varun Dhawan.

The opening ceremony will take place on 11 October, while the first match will played on 12 October.