The first two matches of the ongoing India vs Sri Lanka ODI series witnessed the best and worst of the home team. India lost the first match embarrassingly, but came back strong to win the second ODI, and thus level the series 1-1, making the third encounter a winner-takes-it-all contest at ACA-VDCA stadium in Visakhapatnam on Sunday.

India, after a wonderful performance in Mohali, might not look at making any changes in the team that played in the third ODI. With Shreyas Iyer scoring his maiden fifty, has booked his place for the third ODI.

Washington Sundar is also expected to retain his place in the playing Xi after picking up a wicket in his debut, meaning Kuldeep Yadav might have to sit out once again. Sundar, being an all-rounder, has an edge over Kuldeep.

Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer will be keen to come up with another good innings on Sunday.IANS

The likes of Manish Pandey and Dinesh Karthik will feature, and it gives them a chance to prove their worth in the team as the middle order has been a problem for Team India.

Though India might not want to break their winning combination, it will be interesting to see if Sri Lanka decides to make some team changes.

The island nation were let down in the second ODI, and skipper Thisara Perera could look into the squad and make some changes.

Experienced Lahiru Thirimanne has been out of touch and his place could be given to Sadeera Samarawickrama. In the bowling department, pacer Dushmantha Chameera could replace Nuwan Pradeep, whose confidence levels might also have taken a dip after conceding more than 100 runs in the last match.

Pitch conditions

The playing surface at ACA-VDCA stadium has assisted the batsmen in the past, and batsmen will relish playing on this surface, which will be full of runs.

Predicted playing XIs

India: Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni(w), Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka:  Danushka Gunathilaka, Upul Tharanga, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella(w), Asela Gunaratne, Thisara Perera(c), Sachith Pathirana, Suranga Lakmal, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera