Rohit Sharma
India captain Rohit Sharma celebrates his century in Mohali. He carried on to score 208 not out.IANS

After the batting debacle (all out for 112) in Dharamsala on Sunday (December 10), India were back to their best. Captain Rohit Sharma led the way with an incredible world record innings of 208 not out against Sri Lanka in the second ODI at Mohali's IS Bindra Stadium today (December 13).

Match Scorecard

Thanks to opener Rohit's third double century in the 50-over format, India posted a mammoth 392/4 in 50 overs.

Also read:  Rohit pays Rs 20,000 to Sri Lanka fan

The 30-year-old Rohit is the first batsman in ODI history to score three double tons. His previous monumental efforts were 264 (against Sri Lanka in Kolkata, 2014) and 209 (against Australia in Bengaluru, 2013).

With today's epic knock, Rohit has become only the second captain to breach the 200-run mark in ODIs. Virender Sehwag (219) was the first, against West Indies, in Indore in 2011. Rohit is the stand-in skipper for the series after Virat Kohli was rested.

So far, there have been only seven double tons in ODI cricket. And three of those scores belong to one man - Rohit. Sachin Tendulkar was the first batsman to reach there, in 2010, against South Africa in Gwalior.

Rohit's knock of 208 not out came off 153 balls with 13 fours and 12 sixes. His first hundred took 115 balls while the second needed just 36 deliveries. He was playing his 173rd ODI and brought up his 16th century.

It was the perfect gift from Rohit to his wife Ritika, who was at the ground, on their wedding anniversary today. Ritika was left teary-eyed watching Rohit celebrate his double ton. He kissed the ring on his finger after reaching the mark.

List of double centuries in ODI cricket

200 not out - Sachin Tendulkar (Vs South Africa, Gwalior, 2010)

219 - Virender Sehwag (Vs West Indies, Indore, 2011)

209 - Rohit Sharma (Vs Australia, Bengaluru, 2013)

264 - Rohit (Vs Sri Lanka, Kolkata, 2014)

215 - Chris Gayle (Vs Zimbabwe, Canberra, 2015)

237 - Martin Guptill (Vs West Indies, Wellington, 2015)

208 not out - Rohit (Vs Sri Lanka, Mohali, 2017)