Lasith Malinga
Lasith Malinga (C) will be leading Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup 2016 and the ICC World T20 2016Reuters

Sri Lanka have announced their 15-man squad ahead of the ICC World T20 2016 and Lasith Malinga, who didn't feature in the India vs Sri Lanka T20 series earlier this month, has been awarded the armband.

The same squad will take part in the Asia Cup 2016 to be held in Bangladesh.

Pace bowler Dilhara Fernando, all-rounder Seekkuge Prasanna as well as Kasun Rajitha, who made his T20 debut in the first T20 match for Sri Lanka against India on Feb. 9 and also bagged the Man of the Match award for his impressive bowling figures, remained the notable exclusions from the list.

Malinga was last seen for the Lankan Lions against West Indies in the two-match T20I series in November last year, while Angelo Matthews, named the vice-captain of the side, was also not a part of the India vs Sri Lanka 2016 series.

Sri Lanka squad for ICC World T20 2016: Lasith Malinga (C), Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), T M Dilshan, Niroshan Dickwella, Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardena, Dasun Shanaka, Chamara Kapugedara, Nuwan Kulasekera, Dushmantha Chameera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Jeffrey Vandersay.